Slacker Logo

Golden Classics

Chi-Lites 8/15/2000


The Chi-Lites are one of the great '70s smooth soul bands from Chicago (or anywhere else for that matter). They had great songs, stunning vocals, and smart, interesting production and unfortunately, they also felt the need to hit the studio in what sounds like the late '80s to re-record their hits and a few other tracks, ten in all. The session has found its way on to numerous budget collections masquerading as greatest-hits sets. Golden Classics on Cleopatra is one of these, and while the vocal performances aren't half bad, the music is bland and overly polished and most importantly, they aren't the original versions, which is what you must have. This set even has two hilariously inept modern remixes of "Oh Girl" and "Have You Seen Her" that sound like they were done as a joke. There are many legitimate Chi-Lites collections out there, and with a little looking you should be able to find one that satisfies your smooth soul needs. ~ Tim Sendra
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Oh Girl Chi-Lites 3:1
  3. 2 Have You Seen Her? Chi-Lites 4:51
  4. 3 Homely Girl Chi-Lites 3:33
  5. 4 A Letter to Myself Chi-Lites 4:11
  6. 5 Give It Away Chi-Lites 2:43
  7. 6 Stoned Out of My Mind Chi-Lites 3:14
  8. 7 I Want to Pay You Back (For Loving Me) Chi-Lites 4:24
  9. 8 We Are Neighbors Chi-Lites 3:27
  10. 9 I Found Sunshine Chi-Lites 3:21
  11. 10 (For God's Sake) Give More Power to the People Chi-Lites 3:5
  12. 11 Oh Girl [On Fire! Remix] Chi-Lites 3:46
  13. 12 Have You Seen Her? [Chemical Submission Remix] Chi-Lites 4:32

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |