Slacker Logo

That's Why [Reissue]

Craig Morgan 5/26/2009


Sentimentality is Craig Morgan's specialty and he's awash in it on 2008's That's Why, his first album for BMG Nashville and first major-label effort since his 2000 debut. The extra years suit Morgan well, as he's not really a lively singer; he eases into the song, letting his cured country croon settle into the polished pop textures of his co-production. There are times where the pulse quickens on That's Why, but never does this really rock or twang, not even on the small-town rallying cry "Sticks" or on the pulsating beat of "Every Red Light." This is middle-aged country-pop for Middle America, celebrating faith, family, and country in surroundings that are slightly too slick, but Morgan's saving grace is that deep voice that adds textures to his clichés and keeps the music country when it's threatening to float into anonymous adult contemporary aural wallpaper. [This edition of the album was reissued in 2009.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Love Remembers Craig Morgan 3:53
  3. 2 Bonfire Craig Morgan 2:59
  4. 3 This Ain't Nothin' Craig Morgan 4:1
  5. 4 That's Why Craig Morgan 4:17
  6. 5 God Must Really Love Me Craig Morgan 3:39
  7. 6 Lookin' Back with You Craig Morgan 3:54
  8. 7 Sticks Craig Morgan 3:50
  9. 8 It Took a Woman Craig Morgan 3:19
  10. 9 Planet Her Craig Morgan 3:54
  11. 10 Ordinary Angels Craig Morgan 3:59

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |