Slacker Logo

Voices [Bonus Tracks]



At the close of the '70s, Hall & Oates began inching toward a sleek, modern sound, partially inspired by the thriving punk and new wave scene and partially inspired by Daryl Hall's solo debut, Sacred Songs, a surprising and successful collaboration with art rock legend Robert Fripp. While 1979's X-Static found the duo sketching out this pop/soul/new wave fusion, it didn't come into fruition until 1980's Voices, which was their creative and commercial breakthrough. Essentially, Voices unveils the version of Hall & Oates that made them the most successful duo in pop history, the version that ruled the charts for the first half of the '80s. During the '70s, Hall & Oates drifted from folky singer/songwriters to blue-eyed soulmen, with the emphasis shifting on each record. On Voices, they place their pop craftsmanship front and center, and their production (assisted by engineer/mixer Neil Kernon) is clean, spacious, sleek, and stylish, clearly inspired by new wave yet melodic and polished enough for the mainstream. Thanks to the singles "Kiss on My List" and "You Make My Dreams" (and, to a lesser extent, their remake of the Righteous Brothers' "You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling" and the original version of the heartbreaking ballad "Everytime You Go Away," later popularized by Paul Young), the mainstream enthusiastically embraced Hall & Oates, and the ubiquitousness of these hits obscures the odder, edgier elements of Voices, whether it's the rushed, paranoid "United State," tense "Gotta Lotta Nerve (Perfect Perfect)," the superb Elvis Costello-styled "Big Kids," the postmodern doo wop tribute "Diddy Doo Wop (I Hear the Voices)," or even John Oates' goofy "Africa." Apart from the latter, these are the foundation of the album, the proof that the duo wasn't merely a stellar singles act, but expert craftsmen as writers and record-makers. The next few albums were bigger hits, but they topped the charts on the momentum created by Voices, and it still stands as one of their great records. [In 2004, RCA/BMG Heritage reissued Voices in a sorely needed remastered edition, containing good new liner notes from Ken Sharp but no bonus tracks.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 How Does It Feel to Be Back Daryl Hall & John Oates 4:32
  3. 2 Big Kids Daryl Hall & John Oates 3:35
  4. 3 United State Daryl Hall & John Oates 3:7
  5. 4 Hard to Be in Love With You Daryl Hall & John Oates 3:36
  6. 5 Kiss on My List Daryl Hall & John Oates 4:21
  7. 6 Gotta Lotta Nerve (Perfect Perfect) Daryl Hall & John Oates 3:33
  8. 7 You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin' Daryl Hall & John Oates 4:33
  9. 8 You Make My Dreams Daryl Hall & John Oates 3:6
  10. 9 Everytime You Go Away Daryl Hall & John Oates 5:20
  11. 10 Africa Daryl Hall & John Oates 3:36
  12. 11 Diddy Doo Wop (I Hear the Voices) Daryl Hall & John Oates 3:41

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |