Slacker Logo

Voodoo Child: The Jimi Hendrix Collection

Jimi Hendrix 5/8/2001


Wading through the repackagings of Jimi Hendrix musical legacy is a daunting task which has not been made any easier in the digital age. This double-CD set features a disc of "studio" and "live" performances, including several alternate and hard-to-find recordings of familiar classics. While nearly impossible to include everyone's favorites, this collection is a superior primer for those seeking a thumbnail sketch of Hendrix in both a studio and concert environment. Disc one cuts a chronological path through nearly 70 minutes of peak moments from Hendrix studio recordings as the leader of the Jimi Hendrix Experience and the Band of Gypsys. The sound is impeccable and the song selection hits most of the highlights. Conspicuously absent are vital contributions such as "If 6 Was 9," "Manic Depression," and "Can You See Me." In their stead are alternate versions of "Highway Chile," "All Along the Watchtower," "Stone Free," and "Spanish Castle Magic" -- all of which are available elsewhere. The rare 45 featuring the Band of Gypsys on "Isabella" and "Stepping Stone" is a nice inclusion for collectors. Disc two highlights Hendrix concert performances, including several generation-defining moments -- such as the reinvention of the electric guitar during "Wild Thing" at the Monterey Pop Festival as well as his inimitable "Star Spangled Banner" solo from the Woodstock Music and Arts Fair. Other highlights include a couple of oft overlooked later-era pieces featuring the Band of Gypsys. "Red House" from the New York Pop Festival and the previously unissued -- on CD at least -- "Foxey Lady" from Maui, HI, are both stellar performances from July of 1970. All in all, Voodoo Child: The Jimi Hendrix Collection is a great touchstone for anyone wishing to begin their Jimi Hendrix experience. ~ Lindsay Planer
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Purple Haze Jimi Hendrix 2:49
  3. 2 Hey Joe Jimi Hendrix 3:27
  4. 3 The Wind Cries Mary Jimi Hendrix 3:19
  5. 4 Fire Jimi Hendrix 2:41
  6. 5 Highway Chile Jimi Hendrix 3:36
  7. 6 Are You Experienced? Jimi Hendrix 4:12
  8. 7 Burning of the Midnight Lamp Jimi Hendrix 3:37
  9. 8 Little Wing Jimi Hendrix 2:23
  10. 9 All Along the Watchtower Jimi Hendrix 3:59
  11. 10 Crosstown Traffic Jimi Hendrix 2:18
  12. 11 Voodoo Child (Slight Return) Jimi Hendrix 5:12
  13. 12 Spanish Castle Magic Jimi Hendrix 5:48
  14. 13 Stone Free Jimi Hendrix 3:41
  15. 14 Izabella Jimi Hendrix 2:47
  16. 15 Stepping Stone Jimi Hendrix 4:7
  17. 16 Angel Jimi Hendrix 4:21
  18. 17 Dolly Dagger Jimi Hendrix 4:42
  19. 18 Hey Baby (New Rising Sun) Jimi Hendrix 6:1
  20. 1 Fire Jimi Hendrix 3:34
  21. 2 Hey Joe Jimi Hendrix 6:46
  22. 3 I Don't Live Today Jimi Hendrix 6:31
  23. 4 Hear My Train a Comin' Jimi Hendrix 11:7
  24. 5 Foxey Lady Jimi Hendrix 4:26
  25. 6 Machine Gun Jimi Hendrix 11:34
  26. 7 Johnny B. Goode Jimi Hendrix 4:44
  27. 8 Red House Jimi Hendrix 8:6
  28. 9 Freedom Jimi Hendrix 4:22
  29. 10 Purple Haze Jimi Hendrix 4:3
  30. 11 Star Spangled Banner Jimi Hendrix 3:43
  31. 12 Wild Thing Jimi Hendrix 7:44

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |