Slacker Logo

Share My World

Mary J. Blige 4/22/1997


The hype that surrounded Mary J. Blige in the beginning was simply ridiculous. When What's the 411? was released in 1992, she was exalted as "the new Chaka Khan"-- a definite exaggeration, considering how uneven that debut album was. But Blige did show promise, and by the time she recorded her third album, Share My World, she had developed into a fairly convincing soul/urban singer. Her strongest and most confident effort up to that point, Share had much more character, personality, and honesty than most of the assembly line fare dominating urban radio in 1997. For all their slickness, emotive cuts like "Get to Know You Better," "Love Is All We Need," and "Keep Your Head" left no doubt that Blige was indeed a singer of depth and substance. Although high tech, the production of everyone from R. Kelly (with whom she duets on the inviting "It's On") and Babyface to Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis doesn't come across as forced or robotic, but, in fact, is impressively organic. With Share My World, Blige definitely arrived. ~ Alex Henderson
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Intro Mary J. Blige 1:24
  3. 2 I Can Love You Mary J. Blige 4:47
  4. 3 Love Is All We Need Mary J. Blige 4:14
  5. 4 Round and Round Mary J. Blige 4:24
  6. 5 Share My World (Interlude) Mary J. Blige 0:30
  7. 6 Share My World Mary J. Blige 5:5
  8. 7 Seven Days Mary J. Blige 5:6
  9. 8 It's On Mary J. Blige 4:42
  10. 9 Thank You Lord (Interlude) Mary J. Blige 0:43
  11. 10 Missing You Mary J. Blige 4:17
  12. 11 Everything Mary J. Blige 4:59
  13. 12 Keep Your Head Mary J. Blige 3:48
  14. 13 Can't Get You off My Mind Mary J. Blige 4:39
  15. 14 Get to Know You Better Mary J. Blige 4:31
  16. 15 Searching Mary J. Blige 5:5
  17. 16 Our Love Mary J. Blige 5:20
  18. 17 Not Goin' Cry Mary J. Blige 4:51

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |