Slacker Logo

Big Boi and Dre Present... Outkast

OutKast 12/4/2001


OutKast's first hits compilation comes at the perfect time; after gaining millions of new fans (more of a whole different demographic) with the crossover hit Stankonia, Dré and Big Boi delivered a tight summation of their decade-long career for listeners whose familiarity grows hazy before the duo hit with "Ms. Jackson" and "B.O.B." OutKast has been doing great work since their fully formed debut with 1993's "Player's Ball," and their singles hold up well. Those looking for positivity and emotion on the level of "Ms. Jackson" will find it (wrapped in great productions) on "Rosa Parks" and "Git up, Git Out." The down-tempo "Elevators (Me & You)" is an OutKast history-in-miniature, while two excellent tracks from their debut -- "Ain't No Thang" and "Southernplayalisticadillacmuzik" -- introduced the group's formula of syrupy G-funk and intricate, slang-heavy rapping. Also included are three new tracks: the brass-heavy "Funkin' Around," a P-Funk pastiche named "The Whole World," and the jazz-club jam "Movin' Cool (The After Party)." ~ John Bush
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Intro OutKast 1:8
  3. 2 Funkin' Around OutKast 4:32
  4. 3 Ain't No Thang OutKast 5:39
  5. 4 So Fresh, So Clean OutKast 4:1
  6. 5 Rosa Parks OutKast 3:56
  7. 6 The Whole World OutKast 4:53
  8. 7 Aquemini OutKast 4:42
  9. 8 B.O.B. OutKast 4:38
  10. 9 Southernplayalisticadillacmuzik OutKast 4:11
  11. 10 Crumblin' Erb OutKast 5:16
  12. 11 Ms. Jackson OutKast 3:58
  13. 12 Player's Ball OutKast 4:22
  14. 13 Elevators (Me and You) OutKast 4:17
  15. 14 Spottieottiedopaliscious OutKast 5:57
  16. 15 Git Up, Git Out OutKast 7:24
  17. 16 Movin' Cool (The After Party) OutKast 3:58

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |