Slacker Logo

Savage Garden

Savage Garden 4/22/1997


Savage Garden is light, catchy, and undeniably melodic, and it's hard to believe they released their debut album in the late, not early, '90s. It's easy to say that their breakthrough single, "I Want You," sounds like a revamped Roxette, but it's accurate -- it has a breezy chorus and frothy production that make it an appealing slice of mainstream pop, the kind banished from the airwaves in 1992. Occasionally, Savage Garden reach that peak elsewhere on their eponymous debut -- most notably on the second single "To the Moon and Back" and "Truly Madly Deeply" -- but they lack the vision and discipline to make the record anything more than fitfully entertaining. But those highlights almost make the album worthwhile. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 To the Moon & Back Savage Garden 5:38
  3. 2 I Want You Savage Garden 3:50
  4. 3 Truly Madly Deeply Savage Garden 4:33
  5. 4 Tears of Pearls Savage Garden 3:45
  6. 5 Universe Savage Garden 4:18
  7. 6 Carry on Dancing Savage Garden 3:43
  8. 7 Violet Savage Garden 4:2
  9. 8 Break Me Shake Me Savage Garden 3:22
  10. 9 A Thousand Words Savage Garden 3:58
  11. 10 Promises Savage Garden 3:29
  12. 11 Santa Monica Savage Garden 3:33

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |