Slacker Logo


The Verve Pipe 3/26/1996


The Verve Pipe made their major-label debut under the direction of producer Jerry Harrison with Villains, recasting themselves in the inauspicious mold of a post-grunge act. On an initial listen, the album does little to distinguish itself from the masses, though patient revisiting reveals a band of more depth, with Brian Vander Ark's songwriting improving vastly over previous albums and more subtle aspects, like the tasteful organic keyboard arrangements, actually adding texture and dimension to the sound. The band seemed to acknowledge the misstep by re-recording (yet again) "The Freshmen" for single release and subsequent pressings, which ultimately earned them their first national hit. ~ Chris Woodstra
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Barely (If at All) The Verve Pipe 3:45
  3. 2 Drive You Mild The Verve Pipe 3:1
  4. 3 Villains The Verve Pipe 4:42
  5. 4 Reverend Girl The Verve Pipe 4:27
  6. 5 Cup of Tea The Verve Pipe 4:27
  7. 6 Myself The Verve Pipe 4:42
  8. 7 The Freshmen The Verve Pipe 4:27
  9. 8 Photograph The Verve Pipe 4:50
  10. 9 Ominous Man The Verve Pipe 4:21
  11. 10 Real The Verve Pipe 1:52
  12. 11 Penny Is Poison The Verve Pipe 3:29
  13. 12 Cattle The Verve Pipe 3:43
  14. 13 Veneer The Verve Pipe 5:22

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |