Slacker Logo

Old School Jams, Vol. 4


Other albums by



In the late '70s and early '80s, the oft-overlapping territories of rap, disco, funk, and R&B gave the world so many wonderful singles that, decades after the era came to pass, multi-volume series were still attempting to sew up all that was great about it. The fourth volume of Old School Jams doesn't exactly uncover a bounty of completely forgotten gems from the same period, but with its two discs it makes for a documentation that's almost as good as any other. One can't really go wrong with any selection of singles that touched the R&B charts during this time, and this is no exception. Positive Force's "We Got the Funk" (a Sugar Hill classic that should be at least half as popular as "Rapper's Delight"), Evelyn "Champagne" King's "Love Come Down," Whodini's "The Freaks Come Out at Night," D Train's "Keep On," the O'Jays' "For the Love of Money," Vaughan Mason's "Bounce, Rock, Skate, Roll," and Earth, Wind & Fire's "Let's Groove" make for just a portion of what's available here. ~ Andy Kellman
Read More Read Less
  1. # Song Length
  2. 1 White Lines (Don't Do It) [Original 12" Version] featuring Grandmaster Flash 7:37
  3. 2 Bounce, Rock, Skate, Roll [Original Version] by Vaughan Mason 5:26
  4. 3 Love Come Down [12" Version] by Evelyn "Champagne" King 6:4
  5. 4 Dazz [Original 12" Version] by Brick 5:36
  6. 5 Lets Groove [Album Version] by Earth, Wind & Fire 5:35
  7. 6 Jump to It [Original Extended Version] by Aretha Franklin 6:34
  8. 7 Wet My Whistle [Original 12" Version] by Midnight Star 5:1
  9. 8 Get Down Saturday Night [Special Extended Version] by Oliver Cheatham 7:29
  10. 9 Hey DJ [Original 12" Mix] by World Famous Supreme Team 6:14
  11. 10 Freaks Come Out at Night [Original Version] by Whodini 4:40
  12. 11 The Bottle [Original Mix] by Gil Scott-Heron 5:5
  13. 12 Rock Creek Park [Original Mix] by The Blackbyrds 4:26
  14. 13 Between the Sheets by The Isley Brothers 5:36
  15. 1 More Bounce to the Ounce [LP Version] featuring Zapp 5:10
  16. 2 Set It Off [Extended Vocal Mix] by Strafe 7:12
  17. 3 I.O.U. [Extended 12" Version] by The Freeze 5:26
  18. 4 Let the Music Play [Extended Classic Mix] by Shannon 4:37
  19. 5 Funkin' for Jamaica [Original 12" Mix] by Tom Browne 4:39
  20. 6 Double Dutch Bus [Original 12" Mix] by Frankie Smith 8:21
  21. 7 For the Love of Money [Original Album Version] by The O'Jays 7:15
  22. 8 Keep On [12" Remix] by D Train 7:20
  23. 9 Before I Let Go [Original Version] by Maze 6:6
  24. 10 It's a Love Thing [12" Extended Mix] by The Whispers 5:4
  25. 11 Somebody Else's Guy [Original Version] by Jocelyn Brown 6:24
  26. 12 We Got the Funk [Original Version] by Positive Force 7:17
  27. 13 Sexual Healing [Alternate Vocal Mix] by Marvin Gaye 4:49

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |