Slacker Logo


Tormato [Bonus Tracks]

Yes 22/4/2004
The '70s model of Yes runs out of gas. Recorded in a morale slump and an impending haze of drink, Tormato's decent tunes are sabotaged by Rick Wakeman's increasing penchant for cheesy textures and the band's thin overall sound. "Don't Kill the Whale" was their last successful single for years; the soaring "Onward" almost but not quite redeems the twee silliness of "Arriving UFO" and "Circus of Heaven." Of special interest is the pounding "On the Silent Wings of Freedom," which pushes Chris Squire and Alan White to the front of the mix, establishing the kind of aggressive and straightforward rhythms that would propel the band through the '80s. Bass freaks, take note: this tune also marks one of the few appearances of the Dipthong pedal, accounting for Squire's distinctive "bow bow bow" sound. [Tormato was reissued by Rhino in 2004 with nine bonus tracks, including five previously unreleased songs and two demos.] ~ Paul Collins
Read More Read Less

  1. # Song Length
  2. 1 Future Times/Rejoice PT6M41S
  3. 2 Don't Kill the Whale PT3M54S
  4. 3 Madrigal PT2M20S
  5. 4 Release, Release PT5M43S
  6. 5 Arriving UFO PT6M2S
  7. 6 Circus of Heaven PT4M27S
  8. 7 Onward PT4M1S
  9. 8 On the Silent Wings of Freedom PT7M47S
  10. 9 Abilene PT3M55S
  11. 10 Money PT3M11S
  12. 11 Picasso [Previously Unreleased] PT2M7S
  13. 12 Some Are Born [Previously Unreleased] PT5M38S
  14. 13 You Can Be Saved [Previously Unreleased] PT4M16S
  15. 14 High [Previously Unreleased] PT4M25S
  16. 15 Days [Previously Unreleased][Demo] PT58S
  17. 16 Countryside [Previously Unreleased][Demo] PT3M9S
  18. 17 Everybody's Song [Previously Unreleased] PT6M36S
  19. 18 [Untitled Hidden Track][Previously Unreleased][Demo] PT3M6S

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |