Slacker Logo

Fandango! [Bonus Tracks]

ZZ Top 10/25/1990


Blessed with their first full-fledged hit album, ZZ Top followed it up with Fandango!, a record split between a side of live tracks and a side of new studio cuts. In a way, this might have made sense, since they were a kick-ass live band, and they do sound good here, but it's hard not to see this as a bit of a wasted opportunity in retrospect. Why? Because the studio side is a worthy successor to the all-fine Tres Hombres, driven by "Tush" and "Heard It on the X," two of their greatest songs that build on that album by consolidating their sound and amplifying their humor. If they had sustained this energy and quality throughout a full studio album, it would have been their greatest, but instead the mood is broken by the live cuts. Now, these are really good live cuts -- and "Backdoor Medley" and "Jailhouse Rock" were fine interpretations, making familiar songs sound utterly comfortable in their signature sound -- and Fandango! remains one of their better albums, but it's hard not to think that it could have been even better. [The 2006 reissue of the album adds three live tracks: "Jailhouse Rock," "Tush," and "Heard It on the X."] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Thunderbird ZZ Top 4:9
  3. 2 Jailhouse Rock ZZ Top 1:56
  4. 3 Backdoor Medley: Backdoor Love Affair/Mellow Down Easy/Backdoor ... ZZ Top 9:51
  5. 4 Nasty Dogs and Funky Kings ZZ Top 2:41
  6. 5 Blue Jean Blues ZZ Top 4:39
  7. 6 Balinese ZZ Top 2:36
  8. 7 Mexican Blackbird ZZ Top 3:4
  9. 8 Heard It on the X ZZ Top 2:22
  10. 9 Tush ZZ Top 2:15
  11. 10 Heard It on the X ZZ Top 2:36
  12. 11 Jailhouse Rock ZZ Top 1:53
  13. 12 Tush ZZ Top 3:40

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |