Slacker Logo



!!!, which can be pronounced by repeating any one-syllable percussive sound three times (e.g., "chk chk chk"), formed in 1996 after the demise of the Yah Mos; while on tour, members of that post-hardcore act envisioned forming a band oriented toward danceable music, and once they returned to their native Sacramento, California, they turned the concept into an actual group. The band quickly became an eight-member ensemble: Nic Offer on vocals, Mario Andreoni on guitar, Justin van der Volgen on bass, Dan Gorman on trumpet and percussion, Tyler Pope on guitar, Allan Wilson on saxophone and percussion, Mikel Gius on drums, and Jason Racine on percussion. !!! spent its first few years developing its groove-oriented, post-punk-indebted sound while playing local house parties. At the same time, Offer, Pope, and van der Volgen were in a dub-inflected instrumental outfit called Out Hud. After releasing a 7" on Hopscotch and a split single with Out Hud in 1998, the two bands issued a split full-length, a 1999 release jointly sponsored by Gold Standards Laboratories (a Sacramento label) and Zum (a San Francisco zine). After extensive touring of the States, !!! released a self-titled album on GSL in December 2000. Soon after, the band re-entered the studio and recorded enough material for a follow-up. Some members moved to New York, but the group remained intact and active as it booked regional tours. In 2003, the band issued Me and Giuliani Down by the School Yard (A True Story), its first release -- a ringing, hypnotic single nine minutes in length -- for Touch & Go. It set the tone for 2004's politically charged Louden Up Now, mixed to bold effect by Maurice Fulton. The relatively lighthearted Myth Takes and Strange Weather, Isn't It? (their first for new label Warp) were the band's third and fourth albums, released respectively in March 2007 and August 2010. Before their next album, there were some major personnel shifts, as longtime member Pope departed and was replaced by bassist Rafael Cohen, and drummer Paul Quattrone joined. The group's fifth album, Thr!!!er was released in April of 2013 and featured production by Spoon's Jim Eno and vocals from Sonia Moore, a one-time backing vocalist for MC Hammer. They followed it up with an EP of remixes, R!M!X!S, later that year. ~ Josh Eppert
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Hipster Holiday

    Hipster Holiday
    1 song

    Daytime Dance

    Daytime Dance
    1 song

    Grand Theft Radio

    Grand Theft Radio
    1 song

    Indie 500

    Indie 500
    1 song

    Marketplace Music

    1 song

    Indie Rockero

    1 song

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   One Girl/One Boy
  3.   Heart of Hearts
  4.   AM/FM
  5.   Most Certain Sure
  6.   Bend Over Beethoven
  7.   Slyd
  8.   Steady as the Sidewalk Cracks
  9.   And Anyway It's Christmas
  10.   Must Be The Moon
  11.   Hammer
  12.   All My Heroes Are Weirdos
  13.   Except Death
  14.   Dear Can
  15.   Station (Meet Me at The)
  16.   King's Weed
  17.   Jump Back
  18.   Sweet Life
  19.   All U Writers
  20.   Me and Giuliani Down by the School Yard (A True Story)
  21.   Freedom! '15
  22.   Gonna Guetta Stomp
  23.   Californiyeah feat. Main Attrakionz
  24.   Broadway [Gimme The Lights On]
  25.   Californiyeah
  26.   Get That Rhythm Right
  27.   Even When the Water's Cold
  28.   Infinifold
  29.   When the Going Gets Tough, The Tough Get Karazzee
  30.   Hello? Is This Thing On?
  31.   Intensifieder Sunracapellectrohshit Mix 03
  32.   Pardon My Freedom
  33.   Sick Ass Moon
  34.   Fine Fine Fine
  35.   Wannagain Wannagain
  36.   Break in Case of Anything
  37.   Yadnus
  38.   Myth Takes
  39.   Shit Scheisse Merde, Pt. 1
  40.   Careful
  41.   Get Up
  42.   A New Name
  43.   Hollow
  44.   Even Judas Gave Jesus a Kiss
  45.   Shit Scheisse Merde, Pt. 2
  46.   Theme from Space Island
  47.   Take Ecstasy With Me
  48.   Jamie, My Intentions are Bass
  49.   The Step
  50.   Hammerhead
  51.   KooKooKa Fuk-U
  52.   Storm the Legion
  53.   There's No Fucking Rules, Dude
  54.   Intensify
  55.   Feel Good Hit of the Fall
  56.   Freak the Funk
  57.   Feel Good Hit of the Fall
  58.   JGNDG by Out Hud
  59.   JGNXTC by Out Hud
  60.   Instinct by Out Hud
  61.   Sunday 5:17 AM
  62.   Instinct
  63.   Is This Thing On
  64.   Me & Guilini Walking Down the School Yard
  65.   The Hammer by Chk Chk Chk
  66.   When the Going Gets Tough, The Tough Get Karazzee [Serious Bonus Beats
  67.   Jgne by Out Hud
  68.   Finale
  69.   Shit Scheisse Merde Part 1 - Instrumental
  70.   Me and Guiliani Down by the School Yard - A True Story
  71.   Shitt Sheisse Merde, Pt.2
  72.   Feel Good of the Fall
  73.   No Name
  74.   Shit Scheisse Merde
  75.   Every Little Bit Counts
  76.   Ooo
  77.   All the Way
  78.   Til The Money Runs Out
  79.   Bam City
  80.   Funk (I Got This)
  81.   Lucy Mongoosey
  82.   I Feel So Free (Citation Needed)