Slacker Logo


Sara Bareilles

A gifted songwriter and a versatile pianist with no formal training, Sara Bareilles burst onto the pop scene with a naturally skilled voice that ranged from powerful and soulful to sweet and gentle, earning her instant comparisons to Fiona Apple and Norah Jones. At age 18, she left the Redwood forests of her hometown, Eureka, California, in pursuit of a music career in Los Angeles. Although she attended UCLA's Communication Studies program, Bareilles spent the majority of her spare time studying her new environment and writing poetry and songs about the busy surroundings. After graduation, she spent the next three years performing her songs at open-mike nights, slowly building her confidence as a musician before graduating to local clubs and festivals. In 2003, she co-produced her first demo, Careful Confessions, and became enthralled with recording techniques. Eager to go back to the studio and create a second full-length album, she started shopping her CD around and signed a deal with Epic Records in April 2005. Producer Eric Rosse took her under his wing the following February and the two spent a little over a year perfecting the orchestration -- nearly half of the songs had formerly appeared on Careful Confessions, and a new batch of tracks was carefully constructed in order to make her first major-label release as strong as possible. The lyrical themes of the album, entitled Little Voice and released in July 2007, covered her past relationships, insecurities, and inner battles with trying to trust her instincts. The single "Love Song" made the album a hit; both single and album reached the Top Ten, with "Love Song" eventually selling more than three million copies. With a hit album on her hands, Bareilles hit the road and toured heavily for the next two years, releasing a concert album (Between the Lines: Sara Bareilles Live at the Fillmore) along the way. Playing her songs night after night inspired her to begin writing new material, and Bareilles found herself drawn to material that was bigger, bolder, and peppier than the songs that comprised Little Voice. The result was Kaleidoscope Heart, which marked her second major-label effort upon its release in mid-2010. Kaleidoscope Heart debuted at number one on the Billboard charts, beginning a pretty hectic year for Bareilles. She toured the album well into 2011 and in the fall of that year, she signed on to NBC's televised competition The Sing-Off as a judge. After The Sing-Off wrapped up its run in the spring of 2012, Bareilles recorded the Once Upon Another Time EP with her fellow judge Ben Folds acting as producer. She toured semi-regularly throughout 2012 as she prepped a new album. That full-length record, her fourth, was called The Blessed Unrest and was released in July of 2013. ~ Jason Lymangrover
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Sara Bareilles

    Sara Bareilles: I Am The DJ

    Sara Bareilles: I Am The DJ
    10 songs

    Ed Sheeran: DNA

    Ed Sheeran: DNA
    2 songs

    Sunday In The Park

    Sunday In The Park
    1 song

    Sara Evans: I Am The DJ

    Sara Evans: I Am The DJ
    1 song

    Girl Power

    1 song

    Ladies That Rock

    1 song

    Amy Winehouse: DNA

    1 song

    Take A Hike

    1 song

    Love Songs

    2 songs

    Soft Hits

    3 songs

    Post-Holiday Chill

    1 song

    Eclectic Rock

    5 songs

    Now THIS Is Music

    1 song

    Soft Rock

    2 songs

    Joni Mitchell: DNA

    1 song

    '80s, '90s & Today

    1 song

    Adult Alternative

    1 song

Albums by
Sara Bareilles

Top Songs by
Sara Bareilles

  1.   Song
  2.   Love Song
  3.   Brave
  4.   King of Anything
  5.   I Choose You
  6.   Uncharted
  7.   Bottle It Up
  8.   Gonna Get Over You
  9.   Manhattan
  10.   Gravity
  11.   Hold My Heart
  12.   Breathe Again
  13.   Stay
  14.   Lie to Me
  15.   Once Upon Another Time
  16.   December
  17.   Hercules
  18.   Bright Lights and Cityscapes
  19.   Eden
  20.   Little Black Dress
  21.   Love Is Christmas
  22.   River
  23.   Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
  24.   Between the Lines
  25.   Many the Miles
  26.   (Sittin' On) The Dock of the Bay
  27.   Fairytale
  28.   Send Me The Moon
  29.   Chasing the Sun
  30.   Let the Rain
  31.   I Just Want You
  32.   1000 Times
  33.   One Sweet Love
  34.   Cassiopeia
  35.   Morningside
  36.   Love on the Rocks
  37.   The Light
  38.   Vegas
  39.   Red
  40.   City
  41.   Come Round Soon
  42.   Undertow
  43.   Love On The Rocks / Bennie and the Jets
  44.   Sweet as Whole
  45.   Say Your're Sorry
  46.   Bluebird
  47.   Basket Case
  48.   Kaleidoscope Heart
  49.   Satellite Call
  50.   Inside Out
  51.   King of Anything by The Backbeats
  52.   Say You're Sorry
  53.   August Moon
  54.   Machine Gun
  55.   Islands
  56.   Carolina
  57.   Responsible
  58.   My Love
  59.   Not Alone
  60.   In Your Eyes
  61.   [CD-ROM Track]
  62.   Winter Song
  63.   Bonus Materials
  64.   Between the Lines: Live at the Fillmore
  65.   Many the Miles (Unplugged for Vh1com)
  66.   Beautiful Girl

Artists Related to Sara Bareilles