Slacker Logo

Konvicted [CD/DVD]

Akon 8/28/2007


"Locked Up"'s success provided Akon with instant heavyweight clout. Upgraded from writing songs and doing the occasional hook for B-, C-, and D-level artists, he tallied a multi-platinum album, was granted his own boutique label (which was used to spawn T-Pain), and became in-demand as an A-list collaborator -- he worked with Young Jeezy, R. Kelly, Gwen Stefani, and even Elton John. His second album, Konvicted, isn't much different from the debut (patchiness included), even though it comes from a different perspective. He even addresses his newfound fame, along with the expectations and other forms of grief that come with it, in a vague but very saddened way throughout "The Rain." For the most part, though, Konvicted offers more ultra-macho R&B. The guest spots come from Eminem, Snoop Dogg, and Styles P, leaving no room for female hooks or verses. Akon hits on strippers (but does not fall in love with them), smacks behinds, and tends to go with what suits him best: bragging and seducing while delivering like-sounding hooks in his unique voice. Whenever the yearning and heartache is allowed through, he's not persuasive, and he sounds like he still has the club on his mind. [Some copies of the album came with a bonus DVD.] ~ Andy Kellman
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Shake Down Akon 3:52
  3. 2 Blown Away Akon 3:29
  4. 3 Smack That Akon 3:32
  5. 4 I Wanna Love You Akon 4:6
  6. 5 The Rain Akon 3:27
  7. 6 Never Took the Time Akon 3:58
  8. 7 Mama Africa Akon 4:25
  9. 8 I Can't Wait Akon 3:47
  10. 9 Gangsta Bop Akon 4:6
  11. 10 Tired of Runnin' Akon 4:34
  12. 11 Once in a While Akon 3:58
  13. 12 Don't Matter Akon 4:53
  14. 13 Sorry, Blame It on Me Akon 4:56
  15. 14 Rush Akon 4:14
  16. 15 Don't Matter Akon 5:37
  17. 1 The Journey [DVD] Akon null:null

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |