Slacker Logo



Other albums by Asia

  1. Alpha
  2. Astra
  3. Then & Now
  4. Arena
  5. Anthology
Asia 11/22/1994


Asia hadn't released an album of new music since 1985, so changes were to be expected. But changes for the better -- well, that was a pleasant surprise. Aqua found the band infused with new energy, represented by a younger generation of arena rockers in bassist/vocalist John Payne and guitarist Al Pitrelli. Although Payne doesn't invite comparison to John Wetton or Greg Lake (his voice tends to get rougher as it gets louder), he gets the job done and turns out to be a pretty good songwriter in the bargain. Pitrelli, who had recently worked with Alice Cooper, knows his rock guitar; he's no replacement for Steve Howe, but he doesn't have to be -- Howe makes guest appearances throughout the disc. Aqua is an amalgam of arena rock and hair metal that avoids sounding sappy or self-pitying, two adjectives that would describe Alpha or Astra. Geoff Downes (who continues to write much of the material) keeps the music punchy and professional; gone are the dated synthesizers of the '80s, replaced by cutting-edge keyboards and savvy production. The opening and closing instrumentals, "Aqua I" and "Aqua II," show just how far Downes had come since Astra. The rest of the songs are pretty much of a piece; written with outside collaborators in many cases, they tend to be either moody ballads or hard-driving numbers about love and war (some things never change). "Who Will Stop the Rain?" was chosen as the single; it didn't chart (neither did Aqua), but it's as good a track as you'll find here. "Heaven and Earth" (apparently tested as the second single) is another standout track, shifting from a ballad to an all-out rocker that sounds like Yes' music from the '90s. "Someday" and "The Voice of Reason" are other tracks that represent the album well, and have since been added to their concert repertoire. After ten years and two label changes, Asia finally produced a suitable follow-up to their first album. Few fans remained in the seats to hear it, but those interested in a delayed encore from the band should skip to Aqua and forgo the albums in between. ~ Dave Connolly
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Aqua I Asia 2:26
  3. 2 Who Will Stop the Rain Asia 4:36
  4. 3 Lay Down Your Arms Asia 4:15
  5. 4 Heaven On Earth Asia 4:55
  6. 5 Someday Asia 5:49
  7. 6 Crime of the Heart Asia 5:58
  8. 7 A Far Cry Asia 5:30
  9. 8 Back In Town Asia 4:9
  10. 9 Don't Call Me Asia 4:56
  11. 10 Love Under Fire Asia 5:15
  12. 11 The Voice of Reason Asia 5:37
  13. 12 Aqua II Asia 2:11

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |