Slacker Logo

The Best of the Buddha Years

Barbara Mason 7/10/2001


Barbara Mason's Buddha years spanned from 1971 to 1975 and represented a growth period from a wet-eyed soprano to a mature, throaty-singing, bodacious woman. While not as arresting to some as her teary breakout Artic Records sides, these were stellar waxings by a talented singer who had a unique way of phrasing lyrics, and who never hesitated to reveal the fragility of her mental being or often-bruised heart. The 14 tracks include an update of "Yes I'm Ready," complete with monologue, the scandalous (for the times) "Shackin' Up," and a bourbon/gin special "You Can Be With the One You Don't Love" that will have you reaching for a bottle. There's a fair share of he-say, she-say dramas: "Betty Crutcher" and Lester Snell's "From His Woman to You," Norma Toney's "So He Is Yours Now," a long salty version of Billy Paul's "Me and Mrs. Jones" (revised as "Me and Mr. Jones"), and Mason's self-written dilemma, "Caught in the Middle." ~ Andrew Hamilton
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Yes, I'm Ready Barbara Mason 9:1
  3. 2 Shackin' Up Barbara Mason 4:20
  4. 3 One-Two-Three (You Her or Me) Barbara Mason 6:13
  5. 4 Give Me Your Love Barbara Mason 2:54
  6. 5 From His Woman to You Barbara Mason 4:59
  7. 6 I Miss You Gordon Barbara Mason 3:56
  8. 7 Child of Tomorrow Barbara Mason 3:42
  9. 8 Bed and Board Barbara Mason 8:14
  10. 9 So He's Yours Now Barbara Mason 4:13
  11. 10 Me and Mrs. Jones Barbara Mason 8:55
  12. 11 Caught in the Middle Barbara Mason 4:33
  13. 12 What Am I Gonna Do Barbara Mason 3:5
  14. 13 You Can Be With the One You Don't Love Barbara Mason 4:22
  15. 14 Let Me in Your Life Barbara Mason 3:53

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |