Slacker Logo

Greatest [Expanded]

Bee Gees 9/18/2007


The original double-LP version of this compilation was one of the most generous in the Bee Gees' catalog, assembling 20 of their biggest disco-era hits and most important album tracks in one place, all while the disco boom was still alive in a lot of places. The expanded Reprise double-CD edition of this collection, released in September of 2007, boosts the original compilation's running time by more than 30 minutes, most of the latter made up of remixes and alternate mixes of established hits, such as a 12" promo version and a Teddybears remix of "Stayin' Alive," a Jason Bentley/Philip Steir remix of "You Should Be Dancing," a Count De Money remix of "If I Can't Have You," a Future Funk Squad remix of "Night Fever," and a Supreme Beings of Leisure remix of "How Deep Is Your Love." There's also one previously unissued track, "Warm Ride," without a word of mention about when or where it came from -- in its defense, it's as good a song as anything the Bee Gees actually released in the second half of the '70s. Its presence is a reminder of just how high the quality of their work was during this period, that they had material of such quality that they hadn't utilized, and that they could put it onto a compilation such as this without breaking up the concept or quality. The other selling point on this double-CD set is the sound quality, which runs circles around the prior CD version as well as the vinyl original, rivals the best-sounding audiophile versions of the trio's work, and more than matches the quality on the expanded reissues of their first three albums. ~ Bruce Eder
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Jive Talkin' Bee Gees 3:42
  3. 2 Night Fever Bee Gees 3:30
  4. 3 Tragedy Bee Gees 5:1
  5. 4 You Should Be Dancing Bee Gees 4:15
  6. 5 Stayin' Alive Bee Gees 4:41
  7. 6 How Deep Is Your Love Bee Gees 4:0
  8. 7 Love So Right Bee Gees 3:34
  9. 8 Too Much Heaven Bee Gees 4:53
  10. 9 (Our Love) Don't Throw It All Away Bee Gees 4:3
  11. 10 Fanny (Be Tender With My Love) Bee Gees 4:1
  12. 11 Warm Ride Bee Gees 3:13
  13. 12 Stayin' Alive [Promo 12" Version] Bee Gees 6:54
  14. 1 If I Can't Have You Bee Gees 3:17
  15. 2 You Stepped into My Life Bee Gees 3:25
  16. 3 Love Me Bee Gees 3:58
  17. 4 More Than a Woman Bee Gees 3:14
  18. 5 Rest Your Love on Me Bee Gees 4:20
  19. 6 Nights on Broadway Bee Gees 4:32
  20. 7 Spirits (Having Flown) Bee Gees 5:9
  21. 8 Love You Inside Out Bee Gees 4:9
  22. 9 Wind of Change Bee Gees 4:53
  23. 10 Children of the World Bee Gees 3:6
  24. 11 You Should Be Dancing [Jason Bentley/Philip Steir Remix] Bee Gees 4:44
  25. 12 If I Can't Have You [Count de Money Remix] Bee Gees 4:7
  26. 13 Night Fever [GRN Remix] Bee Gees 4:39
  27. 14 How Deep Is Your Love [Supreme Beings of Leisure Remix] Bee Gees 4:35
  28. 15 Stayin' Alive [Teddybears Remix] Bee Gees 3:21

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |