Slacker Logo

Don't Play That Song [US Release] [LP Version]

Ben E. King 8/20/1962


Ben E. King's third album is a little short in running time but very high in quality, in terms of the dozen songs here. The title track was the selling point, but couldn't help but be seduced by the exquisite production of "Ecstasy" and "On the Horizon," the latter making about as fine use of harps and an ethereal chorus as one imagines possible -- and when the strings come in, violins and cellos alternately, the sheer beauty of the track just overflows. "Show Me the Way to Your Heart" isn't too far behind, and then "Stand by Me" shores up the opening of the second side -- not that anything here needed shoring up, but it's good that they got the single onto a long-player so it didn't go to waste. Even the lesser material, like "Here Comes the Night" and "First Taste of Love" (the latter a Jerry Leiber/Phil Spector song that bears an uncanny resemblance to Arthur Alexander's "You Better Move On"), is interesting to hear for the lively production. This album, like its predecessors, dates from a period in which producers and engineers were figuring out what one could do with soul and R&B in terms of engineering, and the sound separation and textures are nothing if not vibrant and alluring in their own right, separate from the music. ~ Bruce Eder
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Don't Play That Song (You Lied) Ben E. King 2:50
  3. 2 Ecstasy Ben E. King 2:20
  4. 3 On the Horizon Ben E. King 2:17
  5. 4 Show Me the Way Ben E. King 2:13
  6. 5 Here Comes the Night Ben E. King 2:18
  7. 6 First Taste of Love Ben E. King 2:16
  8. 7 Stand by Me Ben E. King 2:51
  9. 8 Yes Ben E. King 2:47
  10. 9 Young Boy Blues Ben E. King 2:17
  11. 10 The Hermit of Misty Mountain Ben E. King 2:17
  12. 11 I Promise Love Ben E. King 2:3
  13. 12 Brace Yourself Ben E. King 1:59

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |