Slacker Logo

Big Mama Thornton in Europe



Willie Mae "Big Mama" Thornton was part of the American Folk Blues Festival revue which toured Europe in 1965, so when it was time to record this session on October 20 at Wessex Studio in London, she had a crack impromptu blues band at her disposal, including a young Buddy Guy on guitar, Fred Below on drums, Eddie Boyd on piano and organ, and Jimmie Lee Robinson on bass. Walter "Shakey" Horton added his harmonica on a trio of tracks, and Thornton also sat down and recorded three powerful songs accompanied only by Mississippi Fred McDowell's elegant slide guitar playing. Thornton added her own harmonica and drums to a few tracks, as well, and the end result is a very special blues session that shows off Thornton's multifaceted and expansive stage presence. The original LP from the session came out that same year from Chris Strachwitz's Arhoolie Records, and for this CD reissue, six more tracks have been added, including alternate takes of "Hound Dog" and "Swing It on Home," which brings the length of this generous disc to just under 80 minutes. Among the many highlights are a spooky, atmospheric reading of Willie Dixon's "Little Red Rooster," the seemingly autobiographical "Unlucky Girl," which Thornton wrote with Jack DuPree, and a pair of takes of her signature song, Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller's "Hound Dog." Also worth noting is Thornton's gutbucket drumming on "Session Blues" and the raggedly perfect "I Need Your Love." The showstoppers, though, are the three songs she does with McDowell, whose gorgeous slide playing sets up some of Thornton's most nuanced and measured singing on "My Heavy Load," "School Boy," and the ominous and stunning "Chauffeur Blues." The album ends with Strachwitz interviewing Thornton, and the whole set provides a perfect introduction to this spunky and innovative blues artist. ~ Steve Leggett
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Sweet Little Angel Big Mama Thornton 5:26
  3. 2 The Place Big Mama Thornton 2:32
  4. 3 Little Red Rooster Big Mama Thornton 4:24
  5. 4 Unlucky Girl Big Mama Thornton 3:16
  6. 5 Houng Dog [Take 1] Big Mama Thornton 3:0
  7. 6 Swing It on Home [Take 1] Big Mama Thornton 1:48
  8. 7 Your Love Is Where It Ought to Be Big Mama Thornton 3:45
  9. 8 Session Blues Big Mama Thornton 4:43
  10. 9 Down Home Shake Down Big Mama Thornton 3:33
  11. 10 My Heavy Load Big Mama Thornton 5:45
  12. 11 School Boy Big Mama Thornton 4:26
  13. 12 I Need Your Love [Previously Unreleased] Big Mama Thornton 3:15
  14. 13 Good Time in London [Previously Unreleased] Big Mama Thornton 4:21
  15. 14 Chauffeur Blues [Previously Unreleased] Big Mama Thornton 5:4
  16. 15 Swing It on Home [Take 2][Previously Unreleased] Big Mama Thornton 3:21
  17. 16 Hound Dog [Take 2][Previously Unreleased] Big Mama Thornton 3:7
  18. 17 Big Mama Talks with Chris Strachwitz [Previously Unreleased] Big Mama Thornton 15:56

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |