Slacker Logo

Cocktail Hour

Bing Crosby 10/12/1999


There aren't any frills on the volume in Allegro's Cocktail Hour series dedicated to Bing Crosby. The complete lack of recording information isn't a tragedy though, since this album was obviously produced for beginners who don't need to know where all the performances originated. The lack of any essay or notes on Crosby's life is more of a disappointment, since novices could use at least a few words about what made him one of the greatest popular voices of the century. Of the 27 tracks spread across two discs, about five are honest to goodness Crosby classics in their original versions ("Swinging on a Star," "Dinah," "Pennies from Heaven," "Sunday, Monday or Always," and "You Must Have Been Beautiful Day.") Well-known songs of poor quality (probably from transcriptions or radio performances) make up the rest of the collection. Even these are interesting and well-done, but an assortment of track errors and odd occurrences spoil the entire compilation. On the first disc, "Temptation" appears where "Sweet Georgia Brown" and "June in January" should be, and you hear "I'm an Old Cowhand" (which isn't listed anywhere on the collection). Most of these 1930s and '40s songs aren't really reminiscent of a cocktail hour anyway, so listeners would do well to avoid this haphazard collection. ~ John Bush
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Swinging on a Star Bing Crosby 2:29
  3. 2 New San Antonio Rose Bing Crosby 3:14
  4. 3 Dinah Bing Crosby 2:58
  5. 4 I Love You Truly Bing Crosby 2:34
  6. 5 Sweet Georgia Brown Bing Crosby 3:7
  7. 6 You're Getting to Be a Habit with Me Bing Crosby 2:47
  8. 7 Temptation Bing Crosby 3:6
  9. 8 May I? Bing Crosby 2:57
  10. 9 June in January Bing Crosby 3:12
  11. 10 Pennies from Heaven Bing Crosby 3:7
  12. 11 Mr. Gallagher and Mr. Shean Bing Crosby 2:53
  13. 12 You Must Have Been a Beautiful Baby Bing Crosby 2:52
  14. 13 Sunday, Monday or Always Bing Crosby 2:32
  15. 14 Sierra Sue Bing Crosby 2:59
  16. 1 The White Cliffs of Dover Bing Crosby 2:48
  17. 2 Yankee Doodle Boy Bing Crosby 1:32
  18. 3 I Don't Want to Walk Without You Bing Crosby 3:8
  19. 4 Song of Freedom Bing Crosby 2:19
  20. 5 Riding Herd on a Cloud Tonight Bing Crosby 2:4
  21. 6 Get on the Road to Victory Bing Crosby 3:8
  22. 7 Sunday, Monday or Always [Version 2] Bing Crosby 2:13
  23. 8 It's All Over Now Bing Crosby 2:52
  24. 9 As Time Goes By Bing Crosby 1:53
  25. 10 I'll Be Seeing You Bing Crosby 2:21
  26. 11 Shoo Shoo Baby Bing Crosby 3:24
  27. 12 (There'll Be A) Hot Time in the Old Town Tonight Bing Crosby 2:19
  28. 13 Long Ago (And Far Away) Bing Crosby 2:22

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |