Slacker Logo

Shiny Beast (Bat Chain Puller)



So titled because the original album, simply titled Bat Chain Puller, had to be ditched and rerecorded after a legal tuzzle involving Frank Zappa's manager, Shiny Beast turned out to be manna from heaven for those feeling Beefheart had lost his way on his two Mercury albums. Then again, what else could be assumed with a song titled "Tropical Hot Dog Night" that sounds like what happened when Beefheart encountered Miami disco and decided to make something of it? When it comes to singing, though, he's still the atypical growler, snarler and more of lore, conjuring up more wonderfully odd lyrical stories than can easily be measured, while the album as a whole gets steadily more and more bent. "You Know You're a Man" is at once straightforward and incredibly weird when it comes to love and gender, while other standouts include "Bat Chain Puller," a steady chugger that feels like a goofy death march, and the nervy freak of "Owed T'Alex." As for the Magic Band in general, keyboardist Eric Drew Feldman, guitarists Jeff Tepper and Richard Redus and drummer Robert Williams lay down the business with appropriately gone aplomb, as a listen to "Suction Prints" will demonstrate. ~ Ned Raggett
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 The Floppy Boot Stomp Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band 3:51
  3. 2 Tropical Hot Dog Night Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band 4:48
  4. 3 Ice Rose Captain Beefheart 3:37
  5. 4 Harry Irene Captain Beefheart 3:42
  6. 5 You Know You're a Man Captain Beefheart 3:14
  7. 6 Bat Chain Puller Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band 5:26
  8. 7 When I See Mommy I Feel Like a Mummy Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band 5:4
  9. 8 Owed T'Alex Captain Beefheart 4:6
  10. 9 Candle Mambo Captain Beefheart 3:24
  11. 10 Love Lies Captain Beefheart 5:2
  12. 11 Suction Prints Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band 4:23
  13. 12 Apes-Ma Captain Beefheart 0:40

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |