Slacker Logo

In Concert

Carole King 11/9/1999


In Concert was the first of Carole King's live albums to appear, actually preceding the release of the 1971 Carnegie Hall concert. The two couldn't be more different. Carnegie Hall presents a nervous, unassuming artist on the cusp of stardom. The Carole King of In Concert is a different woman -- an abundantly confident, slick professional, with all the timing, glitz, and glamour of a Las Vegas pro. Sometimes this works -- her mind-boggling collaboration with Slash on "Hold Out for Love" comes up trumps, and the rearranged "Jazzman" betters its studio counterpart. But there are disasters, too -- "Hard Rock Cafe" is a distinctly unwelcome inclusion, and the blandly flawless band plays as if in a recording studio, rather than on-stage. It's no surprise that King's most unforgettable standard -- "You've Got a Friend" -- elicits the warmest crowd response, which might explain why it appears twice, the second time with supporting vocals courtesy of Crosby, Stills & Nash. But find, if you can, the accompanying video that features an amusing Brill Building medley of "One Fine Day," "Take Good Care of My Baby," and "Hey Girl," which are not included on the CD. ~ Charles Donovan
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Hard Rock Cafe Carole King 5:7
  3. 2 Up on the Roof Carole King 3:50
  4. 3 Smackwater Jack Carole King 4:52
  5. 4 So Far Away Carole King 4:26
  6. 5 Beautiful Carole King 4:37
  7. 6 (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman Carole King 4:9
  8. 7 Hold Out for Love Carole King 7:45
  9. 8 Will You Love Me Tomorrow? Carole King 4:20
  10. 9 Jazzman Carole King 5:55
  11. 10 It's Too Late Carole King 5:29
  12. 11 Chains Carole King 3:49
  13. 12 I Feel the Earth Move Carole King 3:26
  14. 13 You've Got a Friend Carole King 5:34
  15. 14 The Loco-Motion Carole King 4:42
  16. 15 You've Got a Friend Carole King 5:51

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |