Slacker Logo

The Carnegie Hall Concert: June 18, 1971

Carole King 10/29/1996


Carnegie Hall Concert: June 18, 1971 is 17-song set recorded just as Tapestry was topping the charts and making Carole King a superstar. Featuring most of Tapestry and a few songs from Writer and Music this is, in a sense, Carole King unplugged (although that terminology was not yet in use). King performs the first half-dozen songs alone at the piano; bassist Charles Larkey, guitarist Danny "Kootch" Kortchmar, and a string quartet back her (in varying combinations) throughout the rest of the program. Tapestry wasn't exactly a high-wattage affair to begin with, so these rearrangements aren't radical, but they're different enough from the studio versions to merit attention by serious King fans. James Taylor, then at the peak of his own popularity, joins King on vocals for a medley of some of her old Brill Building hits, "Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow"/"Some Kind of Wonderful"/"Up on the Roof." ~ Richie Unterberger
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 I Feel the Earth Move Carole King 3:35
  3. 2 Home Again Carole King 2:46
  4. 3 After All This Time Carole King 3:19
  5. 4 Child of Mine Carole King 4:3
  6. 5 Carry Your Load Carole King 2:59
  7. 6 No Easy Way Down Carole King 5:32
  8. 7 Song of Long Ago Carole King 3:24
  9. 8 Snow Queen Carole King 3:51
  10. 9 Smackwater Jack Carole King 3:49
  11. 10 So Far Away Carole King 4:12
  12. 11 It's Too Late Carole King 4:22
  13. 12 Eventually Carole King 4:38
  14. 13 Way over Yonder Carole King 4:13
  15. 14 Beautiful Carole King 2:39
  16. 15 You've Got a Friend Carole King 6:25
  17. 16 Will You Love Me Tomorrow?/Some Kind of Wonderful/Up on the Roof [Medley] Carole King 7:46
  18. 17 (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman Carole King 4:8

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |