Slacker Logo

Curtis Live!

Curtis Mayfield 8/15/2000


Curtis/Live! is, simply, one of the greatest concert albums ever cut on a soul artist, and one of the legendary live albums of all time. Cut in January of 1971 during four nights at The Bitter End (then Greenwich Village's leading music venue) in New York, the resulting double LP transcended any expectations in both its programming and execution -- Mayfield performed numbers off of the Curtis album ("[Don't Worry] If There's a Hell Below We're All Going to Go"), as well as exciting and urgent new versions of songs originally performed by the Impressions ("We're a Winner," "People Get Ready," "Gypsy Woman"), plus a very moving R&B version of "We've Only Just Begun." This is all beautifully stripped-down work by a quintet consisting of Mayfield (vocals, guitar), Craig McMullen (guitar), Tyrone McCullen (drums), "Master" Henry Gibson (percussion), and Joseph "Lucky" Scott (bass) -- a solid, intense performance, with quietly elegant guitar playing against a rock-solid rhythm section, as Impressions hits are rethought and reconfigured in a new context, and Mayfield's early solo repertory comes to life in newer, longer live versions. [The British import from Sequel adds the complete contents of 1973's live Curtis in Chicago.] ~ Bruce Eder
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Mighty Mighty (Spade and Whitey) Curtis Mayfield 6:57
  3. 2 Rap Curtis Mayfield 0:27
  4. 3 I Plan to Stay a Believer Curtis Mayfield 3:16
  5. 4 We're a Winner Curtis Mayfield 4:47
  6. 5 Rap Curtis Mayfield 0:51
  7. 6 We've Only Just Begun Curtis Mayfield 3:44
  8. 7 People Get Ready Curtis Mayfield 3:47
  9. 8 Rap Curtis Mayfield 0:34
  10. 9 Stare and Stare Curtis Mayfield 6:13
  11. 10 Check Out Your Mind Curtis Mayfield 3:53
  12. 11 Gypsy Woman Curtis Mayfield 3:48
  13. 12 The Makings of You Curtis Mayfield 3:28
  14. 13 Rap Curtis Mayfield 2:2
  15. 14 We the People Who Are Darker Than Blue Curtis Mayfield 8:40
  16. 15 (Don't Worry) If There's a Hell Below, We're All Going to Go Curtis Mayfield 9:27
  17. 16 Stone Junkie Curtis Mayfield 7:58
  18. 17 Superfly Curtis Mayfield 3:53
  19. 18 Mighty Mighty (Spade and Whitey) [Single Version] Curtis Mayfield 3:13

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |