Slacker Logo

Days of the New, Vol. 2

Days of the New 8/31/1999


Clearly, Travis Meeks wasn't happy that his band (project may be the more appropriate word, actually) was dismissed as either an Alice in Chains/Pearl Jam ripoff or the naïve work of a group of teenagers upon the release of their 1997 eponymous debut. During the supporting tour for the album, he fired many of the original bandmembers and restructured the group so that it was clear that he was the driving force of the group. He continued to work hard throughout the recording of the band's second album, immodestly retitled Days of the New but far more ambitious than the name suggests. Opening with the sound of galloping horses, the album soon makes itself known as an epic, structured like a classic concept album but feeling exactly like a moodier, pretentious variation on Days of the New's post-grunge debut. There's no discounting Meeks' ambition, which is, in some ways, endearing; in a time of diminished expectations, where everybody settles for singles, he's swinging for the bleachers. No matter how silly the cowboy-themed opening, "Flight Response," may seem to jaded post-alternative ears, once the record begins to flow, it becomes intriguing, especially when Meeks hauls out the orchestras to elaborate his brooding soundscapes. But just as it becomes intriguing, it begins to stagnate, offering the same tempos and melody lines again and again. There's really no variation to the songs on Days of the New -- there's shifts in the production and arrangement that trick the ear into believing it's hearing something new. And in that production, Meeks reveals his true gifts. He knows how to arrange, creating an evocative sound with acoustic guitars, ambient drums, strings, and layered voices. Unfortunately, he doesn't quite come up with a set of songs to match this production, which means that this 14-track album feels like it runs longer than its hour, but the moments -- and that does occasionally mean isolated moments, not even songs -- that work are a definite improvement from his debut. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Flight Response Days of the New 5:55
  3. 2 The Real Days of the New 4:19
  4. 3 Enemy Days of the New 5:12
  5. 4 Weapon & the Wound Days of the New 5:45
  6. 5 Skeleton Key Days of the New 3:3
  7. 6 Take Me Back Then Days of the New 4:16
  8. 7 Bring Yourself Days of the New 5:55
  9. 8 I Think Days of the New 5:51
  10. 9 Longfellow Days of the New 1:56
  11. 10 [Untitled Track] Days of the New 1:42
  12. 11 Phobics of Tragedy Days of the New 3:27
  13. 12 Not the Same Days of the New 4:24
  14. 13 Provider Days of the New 5:53
  15. 14 Last One Days of the New 4:37

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |