Slacker Logo

The Motown Anthology

Diana Ross 3/27/2001


Up until this release, consumers had a difficult task of finding a definitive compilation highlighting the post-Supremes career of Diana Ross -- mainly because there wasn't one. This double-disc set gathers 27 of the diva's finest solo sides, plus an additional 11 tracks that are making their domestic debut. As a retrospective, The Motown Anthology succeeds in gathering all of Ross' major singles. Some are available here in a previously unissued form. Such is the case for "Remember Me," "My Mistake (Was to Love You)," and "Lovin' Livin' & Givin'" -- from the Thank God It's Friday soundtrack. Those looking for chart-toppers should note that The Motown Anthology not only delivers rare material, but also all the hits that would render most other collections superfluous. The producers have also hit upon a favorable ratio of hits to rarities. After covering all the bases on the popular and familiar material, the previously unearthed nuggets -- which are spread throughout the chronologically organized set -- are a treat for both the intense as well as the casual fan. Of particular note is the leadoff track "Time and Love" -- a Laura Nyro composition which had been scheduled, and then withdrawn, as Ross' first solo single. The sound is uniformly excellent with the caveat that some of the early recordings on disc one -- "Reach Out and Touch (Somebody's Hand)" for example -- never were known for their fidelity. Likewise, the sound of mid-to-late '70s tracks such as "Love Hangover" and "The Boss" are marked improvements. Clocking in at over two and a half hours, The Motown Anthology is a tremendous value. ~ Lindsay Planer
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Time and Love Diana Ross 3:55
  3. 2 Reach Out and Touch (Somebody's Hand) Diana Ross 3:2
  4. 3 Ain't No Mountain High Enough [Single Version] Diana Ross 3:28
  5. 4 Remember Me Diana Ross 3:37
  6. 5 Reach Out, I'll Be There Diana Ross 5:32
  7. 6 Surrender Diana Ross 2:42
  8. 7 I'm Still Waiting Diana Ross 3:43
  9. 8 Doobedood'ndoobe, Doobedood'ndoobe, Doobedood'ndoobe Diana Ross 4:50
  10. 9 Good Morning Heartache Diana Ross 2:19
  11. 10 Touch Me in the Morning Diana Ross 3:48
  12. 11 My Mistake (Was to Love You) Diana Ross 2:56
  13. 12 Last Tim I Saw Him Diana Ross 3:38
  14. 13 Sorry Doesn't Always Make It Right [Single Version] Diana Ross 3:30
  15. 14 Theme from Mahogany (Do You Know Where You're Going To) Diana Ross 3:20
  16. 15 I Thought It Took a Little Time (But Today I Fell in Love) [Single Version] Diana Ross 3:18
  17. 16 Love Hangover Diana Ross 7:46
  18. 17 One Love in My Lifetime [Single Version] Diana Ross 4:1
  19. 18 Gettin' Ready for Love Diana Ross 2:44
  20. 19 Lovin', Livin' and Givin' Diana Ross 4:47
  21. 20 Home Diana Ross 3:42
  22. 1 The Boss Diana Ross 3:50
  23. 2 It's My House Diana Ross 4:29
  24. 3 No One Gets the Prize Diana Ross 6:19
  25. 4 Upside Down Diana Ross 4:2
  26. 5 I'm Coming Out Diana Ross 5:19
  27. 6 It's My Turn Diana Ross 3:54
  28. 7 Stay With Me Diana Ross 3:39
  29. 8 One More Chance Diana Ross 4:20
  30. 9 Endless Love Lionel Richie 4:24
  31. 10 We Can Never Light That Old Flame Again Diana Ross 4:16
  32. 11 Old Funky Rolls Diana Ross 3:38
  33. 12 If We Hold on Together Diana Ross 4:6
  34. 13 Workin' Overtime [Radio Edit] Diana Ross 4:17
  35. 14 When You Tell Me That You Love Me Diana Ross 4:9
  36. 15 The Best Years of My Life Diana Ross 4:20
  37. 16 Take Me Higher Diana Ross 4:15
  38. 17 I Will Survive Diana Ross 4:44
  39. 18 Unitll We Meet Again [Love to Infinity Rmx] Diana Ross 3:41

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |