Slacker Logo

Dubplate Killaz, Vol. 2: Return to the Ninja

DJ Hype 13/0/2006


The second installment in DJ Hype's ongoing overview of the British junglist scene picks up where the first one left off, delivering heavyweight drum'n'bass grooves in a dancehall-reggae-flavored style. This two-disc set includes a DVD with artist interviews as well as a nicely packed CD featuring contributions from the likes of DJ Hazard, Yush, G Dub, Bassline Smith, and others, with mixing and scratching provided by DJ Hype. The album opens strongly with "Look to the Future," on which female vocals and some impressive turntablism spice up what would otherwise be a fairly pedestrian piece of drum'n'bass; things get even better on the Double Drop remix of "Dubplate Killaz" (which incorporates some fine toasting from Daddy Earl) and better still on "Girls," a joyful tag-team toast on which MC Fats and Yush take turns extolling the virtues of the womanly shape in all its varieties. With "Blaze," Crystal Clear provides Spikey T a ragga jungle forum for his horticultural message, and on Prolix's "Choke Hold" Hype takes the opportunity to show off his considerable turntable skills. In general the vocal numbers are more interesting than the instrumentals, but nothing on this program fails to generate significant heat. Exciting and exhausting in equal measure, Dubplate Killaz, Vol. 2 offers a brilliant introduction to the state of the junglist art. Highly recommended. ~ Rick Anderson
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Dubplate Killa [Remix] DJ Hype 2:31
  3. 1 Stole My Heart Drumsound 3:14
  4. 2 Old Times DJ Hype 2:9
  5. 2 Talk Like A Girl DJ Hazard 3:8
  6. 3 Use Your Brain DJ Hype null:null
  7. 4 Warp Speed DJ Hype null:null
  8. 4 Les Miserables G-Dub 2:53
  9. 5 Superfly DJ Hype 3:27
  10. 6 Slipstream [Logistics Remix] DJ Hype null:null
  11. 7 Girlz DJ Hype 2:53
  12. 8 Neighbourhood DJ Hype 1:18
  13. 9 Blaze DJ Hype 2:20
  14. 10 Selector DJ Hype null:null
  15. 11 Legends of Love DJ Hype null:null
  16. 12 Iccaruss DJ Hype null:null
  17. 12 Choke Hold Prolix 2:31
  18. 13 Off Road DJ Hype null:null
  19. 14 Get Up DJ Hype null:null
  20. 14 Kryme Watch DJ Hazard 2:42
  21. 15 Tone Sound DJ Hype null:null
  22. 15 Come Home G-Dub 2:52
  23. 16 Look to the Future [TC Remix] DJ Hype 1:58
  24. 16 Murder Tonight DJ Hazard 2:20
  25. 17 Tink Ya Bad DJ Hype null:null
  26. 17 Black Widow G-Dub 2:25
  27. 18 Sub Tub DJ Hype 2:47
  28. 18 Exile Prolix 2:14
  29. 19 Serious Sounds [Friction Remix] DJ Hype null:null
  30. 20 Nature Girl DJ Hype null:null
  31. 23 Crush G-Dub 2:31
  32. 25 All The Way DJ Hazard 5:37

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |