Slacker Logo

RCA Country Legends

Dolly Parton 21/9/2002


Dolly Parton's volume in the RCA Country Legends series attempts to survey territory previously covered by two volumes of The Essential Dolly Parton series, still the best retrospective of her period as a Nashville and (later) American icon. This collection has only 16 tracks, but still stretches all the way from her earthy late-'60s material to the heavily pop-slanted hits of the early '80s. Fans of her early recordings will enjoy hearing a pair of early album tracks (1967's "False Eyelashes" and 1969's "Evening Shade"), but will surely wonder why the volume bypassed not only all of her charting singles from the '60s, but one of her signature songs, "Coat of Many Colors." Those who know her best for pop performances will find a handful of hits, but not nearly enough to love. At best, RCA Country Legends does function as a competent hits collection; it includes plenty of country number ones ("Joshua," "The Bargain Store," "Jolene") as well as most of her pop crossovers of the late '70s and early '80s ("I Will Always Love You," "9 to 5," "Here You Come Again"). ~ John Bush
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 False Eyelashes Dolly Parton 2:30
  3. 2 Evening Shade Dolly Parton 3:18
  4. 3 Mule Skinner Blues Dolly Parton 3:7
  5. 4 Joshua Dolly Parton 3:1
  6. 5 Daddy's Moonshine Still Dolly Parton 3:29
  7. 6 Jolene Dolly Parton 2:38
  8. 7 I Will Always Love You Dolly Parton 2:54
  9. 8 Love Is Like a Butterfly Dolly Parton 2:19
  10. 9 The Bargain Store Dolly Parton 2:39
  11. 10 All I Can Do Dolly Parton 2:23
  12. 11 Here You Come Again Dolly Parton 2:55
  13. 12 Heartbreaker Dolly Parton 3:29
  14. 13 Shattered Image Dolly Parton 2:23
  15. 14 Old Flames (Can't Hold a Candle to You) Dolly Parton 3:23
  16. 15 9 to 5 Dolly Parton 2:43
  17. 16 Tennessee Homesick Blues Dolly Parton 3:21

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |