Slacker Logo

Dua Lipa [Complete Edition]

Dua Lipa 10/19/2018


With the confidence and determination of a seasoned vet, English-Albanian singer/songwriter Dua Lipa crafted a delightful collection of catchy pop gems where the songs only serve to highlight her vocal prowess. Lithe enough to avoid production overkill and containing just enough substance to nourish, Dua Lipa arrived after years of studio time and six big singles (three of which became U.K. Top 40 hits). The album is front-loaded with those highlights, creating a rush of dancefloor intensity with "Hotter Than Hell," "Be the One," "Blow Your Mind (Mwah)," and the duet with Miguel, "Lost in Your Light." The second half of the LP shines an extra spotlight on Lipa's voice, which, to some extent, can echo the control and power of Adele and Sia. "Garden" is a sweeping, soulful number that does just that, combining the dramatics of a slow-burning Sia ballad with Adele's delivery. "No Goodbyes" is another emotional journey, one of the handful of absolutely yearning and pained confessions from Lipa's broken heart. The acoustic R&B "Thinking 'Bout You" smolders, a lovelorn lament that finds Lipa exhausting her chemical outlets in an attempt to forget a past romance. In a similar vein, "New Rules" is all house-inflected shine, a cautionary list that cleverly warns "if you're under him, you're not over him." In addition to Miguel, a pair of other guests contribute additional highlights. The MNEK-produced kiss-off "IDGAF" is a cheeky, Ed Sheeran-esque singalong that provides a perfect anthem for anyone who has ever been burned by love. "Homesick" -- written by Chris Martin -- could be a direct sequel to Coldplay's 2016 single "Everglow." The delicate ballad reveals Lipa's vulnerability and softness, the defenses of studio production stripped away, leaving only Lipa, Martin, and a twinkling piano. Such exposure isn't found elsewhere on the album, which is mostly concerned with self-empowerment and Lipa's refreshingly defiant attitude. It's moments like this one that strike such a satisfying balance on Dua Lipa, an excellent first effort from a budding pop star. [In 2018, after a whirlwind rise to the top of the pop ranks, Dua Lipa issued a Complete Edition of her breakthrough debut, pairing the Deluxe Edition of the album -- which added the bonus B-sides "Dreams," "Room for 2," "New Love," "Bad Together," and "Last Dance" -- with a second disc of non-album extras and hits, including collaborations with Sean Paul ("No Lie"), Martin Garrix ("Scared to Be Lonely"), Silk City ("Electricity"), K-pop stars BlackPink ("Kiss and Make Up"), and Calvin Harris (the chart-topping "One Kiss").] ~ Neil Z. Yeung
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Genesis Dua Lipa 3:24
  3. 2 Lost in Your Light Dua Lipa 3:22
  4. 3 Hotter Than Hell Dua Lipa 3:7
  5. 4 Be the One Dua Lipa 3:21
  6. 5 IDGAF Dua Lipa 3:34
  7. 6 Blow Your Mind (Mwah) Dua Lipa 2:56
  8. 7 Garden Dua Lipa 3:46
  9. 8 No Goodbyes Dua Lipa 3:32
  10. 9 Thinking 'Bout You Dua Lipa 2:50
  11. 10 New Rules Dua Lipa 3:28
  12. 11 Begging Dua Lipa 3:11
  13. 12 Homesick Dua Lipa 3:47
  14. 13 Dreams Dua Lipa 3:37
  15. 14 Room for 2 Dua Lipa 3:27
  16. 15 New Love Dua Lipa 4:31
  17. 16 Bad Together Dua Lipa 3:54
  18. 17 Last Dance Dua Lipa 3:47
  19. 18 Want To Dua Lipa 3:29
  20. 19 Running Dua Lipa 3:41
  21. 20 Kiss and Make Up Dua Lipa & BLACKPINK 3:7
  22. 21 One Kiss Calvin Harris 3:31
  23. 22 Electricity Silk City, Dua Lipa 3:56
  24. 23 Scared to Be Lonely Martin Garrix 3:40
  25. 24 No Lie Sean Paul 3:40
  26. 25 New Rules (Live) Dua Lipa 4:31
  27. 1 Want To Dua Lipa 3:32
  28. 2 Running Dua Lipa 3:41
  29. 3 Kiss and Make Up Dua Lipa 3:9
  30. 4 One Kiss Calvin Harris 3:34
  31. 5 Electricity Dua Lipa 4:21
  32. 6 Scared to Be Lonely Martin Garrix 3:41
  33. 7 No Lie Dua Lipa 3:41
  34. 8 New Rules Dua Lipa 4:35

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |