Slacker Logo

The Very Best of Eddie Floyd

Eddie Floyd 7/17/2007


Although he is far from a household name in the 21st century, as a songwriter, producer, and performer Eddie Floyd made regular visits to the R&B charts from the mid-'60s through the mid-'70s while he was a part of the legendary Stax Records family. Floyd was originally hired by Stax as a writer and, paired with MG's guitarist Steve Cropper, he wrote several hits for the label, including one for himself, the classic "Knock on Wood" (based on the chord progression for "In the Midnight Hour" reversed), which was Floyd's second single when it was released in 1966. Later, Floyd began writing with another MG's member, Booker T. Jones, and his stay at Stax neatly divides into a Cropper era and a Jones era, both of which are covered in this fine 20-track set. Included are "Knock on Wood," the poignant "Big Bird" (written in the wake of Otis Redding's death, it should have been a bigger hit and remains a favorite of many collectors of vintage soul sides), and a strong cover of Sam Cooke's "Bring It on Home to Me," as well as essentially every key track Floyd sang lead on for Stax. He did much more behind the scenes as a writer and producer, but this set makes a solid introduction to Floyd as a performer, and while he might not have bottled dynamite on-stage quite as famously as Redding or Wilson Pickett, he certainly knew what to do with the recipe. The very definition of unsung, Eddie Floyd truly deserves a wider contemporary audience. ~ Steve Leggett
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Things Get Better Eddie Floyd 2:20
  3. 2 Knock on Wood Eddie Floyd 3:6
  4. 3 Raise Your Hand Eddie Floyd 2:28
  5. 4 Love Is a Doggone Good Thing Eddie Floyd 2:27
  6. 5 On a Saturday Night Eddie Floyd 2:43
  7. 6 Big Bird Eddie Floyd 3:2
  8. 7 I've Never Found a Girl (To Love Me Like You Do) Eddie Floyd 2:42
  9. 8 Bring It on Home to Me Eddie Floyd 2:29
  10. 9 I've Got to Have Your Love Eddie Floyd 2:46
  11. 10 Don't Tell Your Mama (Where You've Been) Eddie Floyd 3:2
  12. 11 Why Is the Wine Sweeter (On the Other Side) Eddie Floyd 2:41
  13. 12 California Girl Eddie Floyd 3:35
  14. 13 My Girl Eddie Floyd 3:19
  15. 14 The Best Years of My Life Eddie Floyd 3:3
  16. 15 Blood Is Thicker Than Water Eddie Floyd 2:40
  17. 16 Yum Yum Yum (I Want Some) Eddie Floyd 2:47
  18. 17 Baby, Lay Your Head Down (Gently on My Bed) Eddie Floyd 3:38
  19. 18 Check Me Out Eddie Floyd 3:34
  20. 19 Soul Street Eddie Floyd 3:23
  21. 20 I Got a Reason to Smile (Cause I Got You) Eddie Floyd 3:13

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |