Slacker Logo

50,000,000 Elvis Fans Can't Be Wrong: Elvis' Golden Records, Vol. 2 [Bonus Tracks]

Elvis Presley 7/15/1997


The release of this album, seen in its proper historical context, is an indicator of just how bright Elvis Presley's star shone in the late '50s. His first hits collection was issued in March 1958, on the eve of his going into the Army; his second was the first "volume two" greatest-hits album ever issued on a rock & roll star, appearing weeks ahead of his leaving the Army in March 1960. Anyone who buys the notion that Elvis was "tamed" during his first years at RCA will find revelation in "A Big Hunk of Love," "I Need Your Love Tonight," and "I Got Stung," some of the greatest pieces of hard rock & roll that the King ever cut -- and all were recorded in the midst of Elvis' stay in the Army, in a hastily arranged session in Nashville during June 1958. The 1997 remastering works better on this material than it did on the earlier Golden Records; the more expansive sound doesn't detract a bit from the power of the music, and the quality of Elvis' singing, coupled with his choice of material, was reaching its peak. By this time, his voice was becoming one of the finest instruments in rock & roll, his idolization of Dean Martin and other popular singers paying off with a degree of control and articulation that his rivals could only envy, and it's all laid out here on what are still some pretty hard-rocking sides. [The remastered edition not only improves the sound significantly, but adds eight songs to the original ten. The notes are thorough, although they reveal the stretching that the producers were engaged in by citing British releases as the justification for inclusion. But the quality of the music is undeniable.] ~ Bruce Eder
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 A Big Hunk O' Love Elvis Presley 2:11
  3. 2 My Wish Came True Elvis Presley 2:33
  4. 3 Fool Such as I, (Now and Then There's) A Elvis Presley 2:35
  5. 4 I Need Your Love Tonight Elvis Presley 2:3
  6. 5 Don't Elvis Presley 2:47
  7. 6 I Beg of You Elvis Presley 1:50
  8. 7 Santa Bring My Baby Back (To Me) Elvis Presley 1:51
  9. 8 Santa Claus Is Back in Town Elvis Presley 2:22
  10. 9 Party Elvis Presley 1:26
  11. 10 Paralyzed Elvis Presley 2:23
  12. 11 One Night Elvis Presley 2:29
  13. 12 I Got Stung Elvis Presley 1:48
  14. 13 King Creole Elvis Presley 2:7
  15. 14 Wear My Ring Around Your Neck Elvis Presley 2:13
  16. 15 Doncha' Think It's Time Elvis Presley 1:55
  17. 16 Mean Woman Blues Elvis Presley 2:15
  18. 17 Playing For Keeps Elvis Presley 2:49
  19. 18 Hard Headed Woman Elvis Presley 1:52
  20. 19 Got a Lot O' Livin' to Do! Elvis Presley 2:30
  21. 20 Peace in the Valley (For Me), (There'll Be) Elvis Presley 3:20

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |