Slacker Logo

Aloha from Hawaii via Satellite

Elvis Presley 4/14/1992


Aloha from Hawaii Via Satellite is a double-album set that captures Elvis' celebrated live television concert from 1973. Arguably, it also captures the peak of the Presley live extravaganzas of the '70s. Spanning two albums and 30 songs (the single-CD reissue from 1992 trims the number of songs to 24), the record finds Elvis pulling out all the stops, running through a set that favors covers and new material at the expense of classics. That's hardly a complaint, since the whole point of his concerts in the '70s was a sensory onslaught, where a bluesy (albeit over the top) version of "See See Rider" could sit next to a schmaltzy showstopper like "American Trilogy." And the key to the whole thing is that Elvis actually sounds more committed to "American Trilogy" than "See See Rider." That passion and energy are carried over to each song, and that's what makes the entire enterprise so entertaining. It's also why the record was a massive hit upon its release and why so many fans have fond memories of Aloha from Hawaii decades after the actual concert. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Introduction: Also Sprach Zarathustra [Theme from 2001: A Space ...] Elvis Presley 1:11
  3. 2 See See Rider Elvis Presley 3:0
  4. 3 Burning Love Elvis Presley 3:11
  5. 4 Something [Cover] Elvis Presley 3:32
  6. 5 You Gave Me a Mountain Elvis Presley 3:15
  7. 6 Steamroller Blues Elvis Presley 3:1
  8. 7 My Way Elvis Presley 3:58
  9. 8 Love Me Elvis Presley 1:53
  10. 9 Johnny B. Goode [Cover] Elvis Presley 1:42
  11. 10 It's Over Elvis Presley 2:11
  12. 11 Blue Suede Shoes Elvis Presley 1:13
  13. 12 I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry Elvis Presley 2:15
  14. 13 I Can't Stop Loving You Elvis Presley 2:25
  15. 14 Hound Dog [Cover] Elvis Presley 0:51
  16. 15 What Now My Love Elvis Presley 3:15
  17. 16 Fever Elvis Presley 2:47
  18. 17 Welcome to My World Elvis Presley 1:53
  19. 18 Suspicious Minds Elvis Presley 4:36
  20. 19 Introductions By Elvis Elvis Presley 1:37
  21. 20 I'll Remember You Elvis Presley 2:34
  22. 21 Medley: Long Tall Sally/Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On Elvis Presley 1:59
  23. 22 American Trilogy Elvis Presley 4:29
  24. 23 A Big Hunk o' Love Elvis Presley 2:12
  25. 24 Can't Help Falling in Love Elvis Presley 2:40

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |