Slacker Logo

Elvis' Golden Records [Limited Edition]

Elvis Presley 7/23/2013


This was rock & roll's first greatest-hits album, and it set the standard for all others to follow. As originally conceived, it was a 14-song collection of most of the King's biggest hits up to that time, released on the eve of his start of military service -- a dearth of material being in the offing, it seemed only logical to assemble these hits. Each of the 14 songs had earned a Gold record award for a million sales, a record unequaled at that time by anyone else in rock & roll. The album wasn't intended as a history lesson, so "Hound Dog" and "Loving You" precede "Heartbreak Hotel" -- the 1997 remastering also tampers with the concept a bit, adding six bonus tracks. Elvis' singing never sounded richer or more expressive, and one can fully appreciate in vivid detail the delicate nuances of his phrasing on songs like "Too Much." On the downside, the remastering has made the sound so clean on some of the harder songs that some of the raw, "dirty" ambience that characterized this stuff on the radio and the original 45s is lacking. Still, Scotty Moore's groundbreaking lead guitar part on "Hound Dog" and the Jordanaires' backup singing never came through more sharply or cleanly, and the all-important rhythm section is almost upfront in the mix. Those who own the first Elvis box from RCA, covering the '50s masters may hesitate to pick up this or the other parts of this latest remastered series, but the sound has been upgraded one more level, and Elvis' Golden Records does give a bite-sized glimpse of where Elvis had come from and where he was going (for better or worse) musically on the eve of heading into the Army. ~ Bruce Eder
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Hound Dog Elvis Presley 2:15
  3. 2 Loving You Elvis Presley 2:11
  4. 3 All Shook Up Elvis Presley 1:56
  5. 4 Heartbreak Hotel Elvis Presley 2:6
  6. 5 Jailhouse Rock Elvis Presley 2:25
  7. 6 Love Me Elvis Presley 2:42
  8. 7 Too Much Elvis Presley 2:32
  9. 8 Don't Be Cruel Elvis Presley 2:2
  10. 9 That's When Your Heartaches Begin Elvis Presley 3:20
  11. 10 (Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear Elvis Presley 1:46
  12. 12 Treat Me Nice Elvis Presley 2:10
  13. 13 Any Way You Want Me (That's How I Will Be) Elvis Presley 2:12
  14. 14 I Want You, I Need You, I Love You Elvis Presley 2:38

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |