Slacker Logo

Elvis [US 1999 Bonus Tracks]

Elvis Presley 7/13/1999


Elvis Presley's second album was really his first to be conceived and cut as an album -- his debut long-player, Elvis Presley, although a brilliant record, was assembled from busted singles attempts and a quintet of Sun Records outtakes. "Anyway You Want Me (That's How I Will Be)," and the classic "Love Me,", display glimpses of sophistication and control as a singer on this album that would increasingly drive his singing in years to come. The rhythm numbers include three Little Richard songs that he performs extremely well, most notably "Long Tall Sally," indicating either a strong preference by Elvis or a dearth of acceptable material brought to the September 1956 sessions by Steve Sholes. The surprises on this album include "Paralyzed," one of the lesser known Otis Blackwell compositions, and Elvis' cover of Arthur Crudup's "So Glad You're Mine" (cut at Elvis' late January 1956 RCA sessions, but unused), which would have been among any artist's top output during this period. [The 1999 remastering, in addition to significantly improved sound on the existing tracks, extends the CD by eight songs including "Hound Dog" and "Don't Be Cruel," the two sides of the biggest selling single by anybody in 1956, which were cut at sessions overlapping the conception of this album, "Too Much" and "Playing for Keeps," which came from these sessions, and "Love Me Tender," which was cut at a session overlapping the making of this album.] ~ Bruce Eder
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Hound Dog [Cover] Elvis Presley 2:17
  3. 2 Don't Be Cruel Elvis Presley 2:1
  4. 3 Any Way You Want Me (That's How I Will Be) Elvis Presley 2:16
  5. 4 Rip It Up Elvis Presley 1:55
  6. 5 Love Me Elvis Presley 2:46
  7. 6 When My Blue Moon Turns to Gold Again Elvis Presley 2:20
  8. 7 Long Tall Sally Elvis Presley 1:55
  9. 8 First in Line Elvis Presley 3:24
  10. 9 Paralyzed Elvis Presley 2:24
  11. 10 So Glad You're Mine Elvis Presley 2:22
  12. 11 Old Shep Elvis Presley 4:12
  13. 12 Ready Teddy Elvis Presley 1:58
  14. 13 Anyplace Is Paradise Elvis Presley 2:25
  15. 14 How's the World Treating You Elvis Presley 2:27
  16. 15 How Do You Think I Feel Elvis Presley 2:12
  17. 16 Too Much Elvis Presley 2:30
  18. 17 Playing for Keeps Elvis Presley 2:51
  19. 18 Love Me Tender Elvis Presley 2:39

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |