Slacker Logo

Elvis: Viva Las Vegas

Elvis Presley 7/31/2007


The soundtrack to an ABC-TV special, Elvis: Viva Las Vegas documents the king's years in a place, the International Hotel (later the Las Vegas Hilton), where he played close to one thousand shows, before two million fans, over the course of seven years. Dramatic, intense, driven and earthy, frequently moving, but not without the occasional cloying note, an Elvis show in the early '70s was the apotheosis of rock music. It was rock and soul, gospel and pop, blues and country. It was Elvis at maximum energy, whether he was kicking his older hits into a higher gear or down-shifting to make a burning ballad out of one of his favorite songs from the past few years. Elvis and his coterie took what had once been simple and unadorned and transformed it into one of the glitziest extravaganzas ever seen. Elvis: Viva Las Vegas is a live compilation (except for the studio version of the title track), most of it recorded during his earliest engagements at the International Hotel in February and August of 1970. (The same material can be found on the original live album On Stage: February 1970 as well as the expanded That's the Way It Is; the rest are from a February 1972 show that had previously appeared on the box set Live in Las Vegas.) The focus here is on material that Elvis had not made his own, but nevertheless seemed to fit with what he wanted to express in his post-movie years -- songs that struck the grand note, that stood for nothing less than a maximum of drama and feeling, songs like "Let It Be Me," "Release Me," "You've Lost That Loving Feeling," and "Bridge over Troubled Water." Late-period Elvis is not the way most fans wish to remember him, but it's an important part of his career, and both the film and soundtrack for Elvis: Viva Las Vegas document it well. ~ John Bush
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Viva Las Vegas Elvis Presley 2:24
  3. 2 See See Rider Elvis Presley 2:34
  4. 3 The Wonder of You Elvis Presley 2:36
  5. 4 Polk Salad Annie Elvis Presley 4:49
  6. 5 Release Me Elvis Presley 3:1
  7. 6 Let It Be Me Elvis Presley 3:28
  8. 7 I Just Can't Help Believin' Elvis Presley 4:35
  9. 8 Walk a Mile in My Shoes Elvis Presley 2:57
  10. 9 Bridge Over Troubled Water Elvis Presley 4:8
  11. 10 Patch It Up Elvis Presley 4:0
  12. 11 You Don't Have to Say You Love Me Elvis Presley 2:5
  13. 12 You've Lost That Loving Feeling Elvis Presley 4:22
  14. 13 An American Trilogy Elvis Presley 4:27
  15. 14 Never Been to Spain Elvis Presley 3:26
  16. 15 You Gave Me a Mountain Elvis Presley 3:15
  17. 16 The Impossible Dream (The Quest) Elvis Presley 2:27

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |