Slacker Logo

Loving You [Bonus Tracks]

Elvis Presley 4/15/1997


Purporting to be the soundtrack to Elvis' second film, the LP version of this album collected songs used in the film on one side with new material on the other. The weakness of a couple of the movie tunes and the fact that the new songs were leftovers from the sessions used to produce Elvis' first gospel EP and latest single add up to his weakest album offering, although any album with "Got a Lot o' Living to Do!" is all right. The 1997 remastered CD version and 2005 reissue add eight more songs, only three of them associated with the movie, which became sort of incidental to the whole album at that point. If you think of Loving You as simply an Elvis Presley album, rather than a somewhat misleadingly packaged soundtrack, it was actually one of his more coherent and cohesive long-players, assembled from sessions all conducted in the first two months of 1957. By this time, he was doing precious little that was wrong, and his range and control were growing geometrically. Thus, amid some powerful rock & roll, including "Mean Woman Blues" (which could almost have passed for one of his Sun tracks), "Teddy Bear," the electric guitar-driven "Got a Lot 'o Livin' to Do!," Ivory Joe Hunter's "I Need You So," and a hard, brittle-textured outtake of "I Beg of You," the King does some brilliant ballad singing on "One Night of Sin" and "Is It So Strange," and belts out one of his great blues performances on "When It Rains, It Really Pours" -- which boasts a killer Scotty Moore guitar part -- and moves into Sons of the Pioneers territory with the hauntingly beautiful Western ballad "Lonesome Cowboy." He doesn't do badly with "Blueberry Hill," either. [The 1997 CD remastering adds eight more songs, only three of them associated with the movie, which becomes sort of incidental to the whole album at that point.] ~ Neal Umphred & Bruce Eder
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Mean Woman Blues Elvis Presley 2:15
  3. 2 (Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear Elvis Presley 1:46
  4. 3 Loving You Elvis Presley 2:13
  5. 4 Got a Lot o' Livin' to Do! Elvis Presley 2:30
  6. 5 Lonesome Cowboy Elvis Presley 3:3
  7. 6 Hot Dog Elvis Presley 1:13
  8. 7 Party Elvis Presley 1:28
  9. 8 Blueberry Hill Elvis Presley 2:38
  10. 9 True Love Elvis Presley 2:5
  11. 10 Don't Leave Me Now Elvis Presley 1:58
  12. 11 Have I Told You Lately That I Love You Elvis Presley 2:30
  13. 12 I Need You So Elvis Presley 2:37
  14. 13 Tell Me Why Elvis Presley 2:6
  15. 14 Is It So Strange Elvis Presley 2:27
  16. 15 One Night of Sin Elvis Presley 2:35
  17. 16 When It Rains, It Really Pours Elvis Presley 1:48
  18. 17 I Beg of You [Alternate Master] Elvis Presley 1:50
  19. 18 Party [Alternate Master] Elvis Presley 1:8
  20. 19 Loving You [Uptempo Version] Elvis Presley 1:24
  21. 20 Got a Lot o' Livin' to Do! (Finale) Elvis Presley 1:18

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |