Slacker Logo

Memories: The '68 Comeback Special

Elvis Presley 10/13/1998


Following Tiger Man, released four weeks earlier, Memories: The '68 Comeback Special completed RCA's repackaging of material recorded for Presley, and the Elvis Presley television special broadcast in December 1968 that revitalized his career. Where the single-disc Tiger Man presented an entire session from the informal performances in which a seated Presley revisited his old hits, the double-disc Memories basically was an expanded version of the TV soundtrack album, minus tracks used on Tiger Man, but with an additional 22 previously unreleased recordings out of its 35 selections, several of which were alternate takes, so that there was a fair amount of repetition on the album. (All but four tracks were in mono.) When the special aired, it was hailed as a return to form for a rock star who had spent most of the 1960s acting in mediocre movies and recording mediocre soundtrack albums. By largely returning to his 1950s repertoire and performing it before a studio audience, Presley reaffirmed his status and created a blueprint for his live shows for the rest of his career, even if the few newly written songs (including the treacly title track) did little to extend his appeal as a creative artist. Thirty years later, the special's impact could not be re-created, but the album did present committed performances of some of Presley's best-known songs, some of them in full-blown arrangements and others in the off-the-cuff, small-group sessions. ~ William Ruhlmann
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Trouble/Guitar Man Elvis Presley 3:23
  3. 2 Heartbreak Hotel Elvis Presley 1:34
  4. 3 Hound Dog [Cover] Elvis Presley 0:47
  5. 4 All Shook Up Elvis Presley 2:1
  6. 5 Can't Help Falling in Love Elvis Presley 2:19
  7. 6 Jailhouse Rock Elvis Presley 1:59
  8. 7 Don't Be Cruel Elvis Presley 1:42
  9. 8 Blue Suede Shoes Elvis Presley 2:25
  10. 9 Love Me Tender Elvis Presley 3:30
  11. 10 Baby, What You Want Me to Do Elvis Presley 3:17
  12. 11 Trouble/Guitar Man [Previously Unreleased] Elvis Presley 4:23
  13. 12 Gospel Medley: Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child/Where ... Elvis Presley 9:1
  14. 13 Memories Elvis Presley 3:16
  15. 14 A Little Less Conversation Elvis Presley 1:44
  16. 15 Raod Medley: Nothingville/Big Boss Man/Let Yourself Go/It Hurts Me Elvis Presley 15:42
  17. 16 If I Can Dream Elvis Presley 3:12
  18. 1 When It Rains, It Really Pours Elvis Presley 1:52
  19. 2 Lawdy Miss Clawdy Elvis Presley 1:45
  20. 3 Baby, What You Want Me to Do Elvis Presley 1:27
  21. 4 That's All Right Elvis Presley 6:42
  22. 5 Heartbreak Hotel Elvis Presley 2:54
  23. 6 Love Me Elvis Presley 2:55
  24. 7 Baby, What You Want Me to Do Elvis Presley 3:46
  25. 8 Blue Suede Shoes Elvis Presley 4:41
  26. 9 Baby, What You Want Me to Do Elvis Presley 2:54
  27. 10 Lawdy Miss Clawdy Elvis Presley 4:6
  28. 11 Are You Lonesome Tonight? Elvis Presley 2:57
  29. 12 When My Blue Moon Turns to Gold Again Elvis Presley 0:38
  30. 13 Blue Christmas Elvis Presley 2:28
  31. 14 Trying to Get to You Elvis Presley 2:58
  32. 15 One Night Elvis Presley 3:55
  33. 16 Baby, What You Want Me to Do Elvis Presley 4:0
  34. 17 One Night Elvis Presley 3:51
  35. 18 Memories Elvis Presley 3:25
  36. 19 If I Can Dream Elvis Presley 3:12

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |