Slacker Logo

461 Ocean Boulevard [Deluxe Edition]

Eric Clapton 11/9/2004


Polydor/Chronicles' 2004 deluxe edition reissue of Eric Clapton's 461 Ocean Boulevard -- long considered one of Clapton's best solo albums, ranking alongside Eric Clapton and Slowhand as one of his finest studio efforts -- expands the original ten-track album to two discs. The original album is supplemented by five session outtakes on the first disc, all of which have been previously released on other reissues: "Walkin' Down the Road" appeared on 1996's Crossroads 2, "Ain't That Lovin' You" appeared on 1988's Crossroads, while "Meet Me (Down at the Bottom)" appeared on 1999's Blues and the other two tracks, "Eric After Hours Blues" and "B Minor Jam," appeared on the limited-edition bonus disc that came with the original release of Blues. All these sound like outtakes -- they're all a little too lazy and meandering to make a finished album, but fanatics will surely like all of these outtakes collected in one place and paired with the official album. The second disc compiles highlights from two concerts Clapton gave at the Hammersmith Odeon in London on December 4 and 5, 1974. Here, Clapton also sounds a little bit too laid back, particularly on the acoustic material, but he does have some fine moments scattered through the disc -- perhaps not enough to satisfy anybody besides dedicated fans, but that's who the reissue is for, and they'll likely be satisfied with this nicely remastered, well-packaged set, even if it packs no revelations. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Motherless Children Eric Clapton 4:46
  3. 2 Give Me Strength Eric Clapton 2:52
  4. 3 Willie and the Hand Jive Eric Clapton 3:30
  5. 4 Get Ready Eric Clapton 3:48
  6. 5 I Shot the Sheriff Eric Clapton 4:24
  7. 6 I Can't Hold Out Eric Clapton 4:12
  8. 7 Please Be with Me Eric Clapton 3:27
  9. 8 Let It Grow Eric Clapton 4:57
  10. 9 Steady Rollin' Man Eric Clapton 3:13
  11. 10 Mainline Florida Eric Clapton 4:5
  12. 11 Walkin' Down the Road [Sesion Outtake] Eric Clapton 5:15
  13. 12 Ain't That Lovin' You [Session Outtake] Eric Clapton 5:27
  14. 13 Meet Me (Down at the Bottom) [Session Outtake] Eric Clapton 6:56
  15. 14 Eric Afters Hours Blues [Session Outtake] Eric Clapton 4:21
  16. 15 B Minor Jam [Session Outtake] Eric Clapton 7:10
  17. 1 Smile Eric Clapton 4:39
  18. 2 Let It Grow Eric Clapton 6:22
  19. 3 Can't Find My Way Home Eric Clapton 4:49
  20. 4 I Shot the Sheriff [Cover] Eric Clapton 7:50
  21. 5 Tell the Truth Eric Clapton 7:3
  22. 6 The Sky Is Crying/Have You Ever Loved a Woman/Ramblin' on My Mind Eric Clapton 7:24
  23. 7 Little Wing Eric Clapton 6:48
  24. 8 Singin' the Blues Eric Clapton 7:42
  25. 9 Badge Eric Clapton 8:36
  26. 10 Layla Eric Clapton 5:26
  27. 11 Let It Rain Eric Clapton 6:34

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |