Slacker Logo

At Last!

Etta James 1961


After spending a few years in limbo after scoring her first R&B hits "Dance With Me, Henry" and "Good Rocking Daddy," Etta James returned to the spotlight in 1961 with her first Chess release, At Last. James made both the R&B and pop charts with the album's title cut, "All I Could Do Was Cry," and "Trust in Me." What makes At Last a great album is not only the solid hits it contains, but also the strong variety of material throughout. James expertly handles jazz standards like "Stormy Weather" and "A Sunday Kind of Love," as well as Willie Dixon's blues classic "I Just Want to Make Love to You." James demonstrates her keen facility on the title track in particular, as she easily moves from powerful blues shouting to more subtle, airy phrasing; her Ruth Brown-inspired, bad-girl growl only adds to the intensity. James would go on to even greater success with later hits like "Tell Mama," but on At Last one hears the singer at her peak in a swinging and varied program of blues, R&B, and jazz standards. ~ Stephen Cook
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Anything to Say You're Mine Etta James 2:34
  3. 2 My Dearest Darling Etta James 3:0
  4. 3 Trust in Me Etta James 2:57
  5. 4 A Sunday Kind of Love Etta James 3:15
  6. 5 Tough Mary Etta James 2:23
  7. 6 I Just Want to Make Love to You Etta James 3:5
  8. 7 At Last Etta James 2:58
  9. 8 All I Could Do Was Cry Etta James 2:54
  10. 9 Stormy Weather Etta James 3:6
  11. 10 Girl of My Dreams Etta James 2:20
  12. 11 My Heart Cries [Duet with Harvery Fuqua] Etta James 2:32
  13. 12 Spoonful [Duet with Harvery Fuqua] Etta James 2:46
  14. 13 It's a Crying Shame [Duet with Harvery Fuqua] Etta James 2:50
  15. 14 If I Can't Have You [Duet with Harvery Fuqua] Etta James 2:45

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |