Slacker Logo

Let It Roll: The Best of George Harrison

George Harrison 6/16/2009


George Harrison had two periods of great commercial success, separated by 15 years and two record labels. This extended gap is the chief reason there hasn't been a career-spanning Harrison collection until 2009's Let It Roll: Songs By George Harrison, the first-ever disc to gather songs from George's stints at both Apple and Dark Horse, and only his third-ever hits collection, following 1976's Beatles-heavy The Best of George Harrison and The Best of Dark Horse, released in 1989 in the afterglow of Cloud Nine's comeback success. Let It Roll balances these two periods, swapping any Beatles-era song ("Something," "Here Comes the Sun," "While My Guitar Gently Weeps") for a live version from The Concert for Bangladesh, then mixing it all up chronologically, so the set starts with the pristine bounce of "Got My Mind Set on You" before giving way to "Give Me Love (Give Me Peace on Earth)" If anything jars, it's the sounds of times, as Jeff Lynne's clean, manicured arrangements don't necessarily fit with Phil Spector's lush, magisterial productions, but that's a minor quibble about a useful compilation that consolidates all of Harrison's signature tunes on one very enjoyable disc. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Got My Mind Set on You George Harrison 3:49
  3. 2 Give Me Love (Give Me Peace on Earth) George Harrison 3:35
  4. 3 Ballad of Sir Frankie Crisp (Let It Roll) George Harrison 3:48
  5. 4 My Sweet Lord George Harrison 4:36
  6. 5 While My Guitar Gently Weeps George Harrison 4:45
  7. 6 All Things Must Pass George Harrison 3:46
  8. 7 Any Road George Harrison 3:49
  9. 8 This Is Love George Harrison 3:44
  10. 9 All Those Years Ago George Harrison 3:46
  11. 10 Marwa Blues George Harrison 3:36
  12. 11 What Is Life George Harrison 4:24
  13. 12 Rising Sun George Harrison 5:27
  14. 13 When We Was Fab George Harrison 3:51
  15. 14 Something George Harrison 3:10
  16. 15 Blow Away George Harrison 3:59
  17. 16 Cheer Down George Harrison 4:5
  18. 17 Here Comes the Sun George Harrison 2:54
  19. 18 I Don't Want to Do It George Harrison 2:54
  20. 19 Isn't It a Pity George Harrison 7:7

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |