Slacker Logo

The Singles Collection 2001-2011

Gorillaz 11/29/2011


It is no great surprise that a group designed as a concept would eventually specialize in concept albums, so when Gorillaz abandoned the giddiness that fueled their 2001 debut in favor of dense dystopian dance-rock operas, it seemed logical and the transition was eased by Albarn’s cunning knack for sharp crossover singles. Released in 2011, The Singles Collection 2001-2011 rounds up 15 of those singles -- including remixes of early hits “Clint Eastwood” and “19/2000” and “Doncamatic,” which was added to later pressings of 2010’s Plastic Beach, but nothing from their iPad-recorded 2010 detour The Fall -- and they make for an impressively consistent body of work, with Gorillaz finding many variations within their blend of Brit-pop, hip-hop, dance, and rock. In this context, it is clear that the three singles pulled from Plastic Beach -- “Stylo,” “Superfast Jellyfish,” “On Melancholy Hill” -- didn’t reach the same heights as those from Gorillaz and Demon Days because they were cobbled by a certain dourness -- a quality lacking from the singles from the similarly pessimistic Demon Days and from “Doncamatic” -- yet they don’t offer a sour coda on this Singles Collection; instead, they indicate the complexity of this cartoon pop group, which means this compilation isn’t merely a good collection of hits, it’s a fine introduction to the multifaceted pleasures of Gorillaz. [The Deluxe Edition contains a bonus DVD with the group’s videos (essential to the understanding of the group), a documentary called Charts of Darkness, two BRIT Award performances, and three trailers.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Tomorrow Comes Today Gorillaz 3:12
  3. 2 Clint Eastwood Gorillaz 5:39
  4. 3 19-2000 Gorillaz 3:28
  5. 4 Rock the House Gorillaz 4:7
  6. 5 Feel Good Inc. Gorillaz 3:41
  7. 6 DARE [Radio Edit] Gorillaz 3:31
  8. 7 Dirty Harry [Single Edit] Gorillaz 3:47
  9. 8 Kids with Guns Gorillaz 3:45
  10. 9 El Mañana Gorillaz 3:49
  11. 10 Stylo [Radio Edit] Gorillaz 3:51
  12. 11 Superfast Jellyfish Gorillaz 2:55
  13. 12 On Melancholy Hill [Radio Edit] Gorillaz 3:25
  14. 13 Doncamatic Gorillaz 3:19
  15. 14 Clint Eastwood [Ed Case & Sweetie Irie Refix Edit] Gorillaz 3:39
  16. 15 19-2000 [Soulchild Remix] Gorillaz 3:26

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |