Slacker Logo

Sacred Hearts and Fallen Angels: The Gram Parsons Anthology

Gram Parsons 5/1/2001


Gram Parsons' legend is so great that it's easy for the neophyte to be skeptical about his music, wondering if it really is deserving of such effusive praise. Simply put, it is, and if you question the veracity of that statement, turn to Rhino's peerless double-disc set, Sacred Hearts and Fallen Angels: The Gram Parsons Anthology. This is the first truly comprehensive overview of Parsons' work, running from the International Submarine Band, through the Byrds, to the Flying Burrito Brothers and his two solo albums, scattering appropriate rarities or non-LP tracks along the way. This is no small feat, since it depends on extensive cross-licensing between record labels, plus concentration from the compilers, who won't allow personal biases to get in the way of telling the story. Miraculously, this happens, and the result is a lean, yet thorough, utterly addictive set that summarizes the brilliance of Gram Parsons, capturing his magnificent songwriting abilities and how he made country sound like rock & roll, while giving rock a sense of country's history. It's possible to complain about the handful of omissions -- "Break My Mind" is one of the greatest recordings he did with the Byrds, the version of "Do You Know How It Feels" is better with the Burritos, the barroom anthems of his solo records ("Cry One More Time," "Big Mouth Blues," "I Can't Dance," "Cash on the Barrellhead") gave the weepers context -- but this still hits every major point. After all, counting the early version of "Do You Know," only two songs are missing from The Gilded Palace of Sin and only four songs are missing from the two-fer of GP/Grievous Angel, plus this has the best of the ISB, Byrds, and songs that didn't make the solo album. So, even if there may be a personal favorite or two missing, nothing major is missing, which means this is a perfect, irresistible summation of Parsons' career, containing every great moment from all of his bands. His genius has never seemed purer than it does here, since it conveys the true scope of his talents and his career. If you are a fan of Parsons, this isn't necessary, even if it is an excellent listen (there's only one unreleased track, the ISB's "Knee Deep in the Blues"). If you haven't fallen in love with him, skip every other disc -- this is what you need. Once you hear it, there's no way that you won't become a life-long fan. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Blue Eyes The International Submarine Band 2:48
  3. 2 Luxury Liner The International Submarine Band 2:54
  4. 3 Do You Know How It Feels (To Be Lonesome) The International Submarine Band 3:34
  5. 4 I Must Be Somebody Else You've Known The International Submarine Band 2:14
  6. 5 Miller's Cave The International Submarine Band 2:48
  7. 6 Knee Deep in the Blues The International Submarine Band 1:57
  8. 7 Hickory Wind The Byrds 3:33
  9. 8 You're Still on My Mind The Byrds 2:22
  10. 9 The Christian Life The Byrds 2:31
  11. 10 You Don't Miss Your Water [Cover] The Byrds 3:52
  12. 11 One Hundred Years from Now The Byrds 2:58
  13. 12 Christine's Tune (A.K.A. Devil in Disguise) The Flying Burrito Brothers 3:5
  14. 13 Sin City The Flying Burrito Brothers 4:11
  15. 14 Do Right Woman, Do Right Man The Flying Burrito Brothers 3:56
  16. 15 The Dark End of the Street The Flying Burrito Brothers 3:59
  17. 16 Wheels The Flying Burrito Brothers 3:4
  18. 17 Juanita The Flying Burrito Brothers 2:32
  19. 18 Hot Burrito #1 The Flying Burrito Brothers 3:41
  20. 19 Hot Burrito #2 The Flying Burrito Brothers 3:19
  21. 20 High Fashion Queen The Flying Burrito Brothers 2:9
  22. 21 Older Guys The Flying Burrito Brothers 2:30
  23. 22 Cody, Cody The Flying Burrito Brothers 2:46
  24. 23 Wild Horses The Flying Burrito Brothers 6:23
  25. 24 Sing Me Back Home The Flying Burrito Brothers 4:31
  26. 1 To Love Somebody The Flying Burrito Brothers 3:21
  27. 2 Still Feeling Blue Gram Parsons 2:41
  28. 3 We'll Sweep out the Ashes in the Morning Gram Parsons 3:13
  29. 4 A Song for You Gram Parsons 4:58
  30. 5 Streets of Baltimore Gram Parsons 2:53
  31. 6 She Gram Parsons 4:58
  32. 7 The New Soft Shoe Gram Parsons 3:53
  33. 8 Kiss the Children Gram Parsons 2:58
  34. 9 How Much I've Lied Gram Parsons 2:25
  35. 10 Drug Store Truck Drivin' Man Gram Parsons 4:39
  36. 11 That's All It Took Gram Parsons 2:51
  37. 12 California Cotton Fields Gram Parsons 2:46
  38. 13 Return of the Grievous Angel [Remix] Gram Parsons & the Fallen Angels 3:58
  39. 14 Hearts on Fire Gram Parsons & the Fallen Angels 3:49
  40. 15 Brass Buttons Gram Parsons & the Fallen Angels 3:29
  41. 16 $1000 Wedding Gram Parsons & the Fallen Angels 5:2
  42. 17 Love Hurts Gram Parsons & the Fallen Angels 3:41
  43. 18 Ooh Las Vegas Gram Parsons & the Fallen Angels 3:31
  44. 19 In My Hour of Darkness Gram Parsons & the Fallen Angels 3:42
  45. 20 Brand New Heartache Gram Parsons 2:22
  46. 21 Sleepless Nights Gram Parsons & the Fallen Angels 3:25
  47. 22 The Angels Rejoiced Last Night Gram Parsons 3:36

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |