Slacker Logo

The Imagine Project

Herbie Hancock 6/22/2010


Herbie Hancock's star-studded The Imagine Project was several years in the making, recorded in seven countries with musicians from all over the globe. Hancock's band with producer/bassist Larry Klein, drummer Vinnie Colaiuta, percussionist Alex Acuña, and guitarist Lionel Loueke is a common denominator. Most selections are interpretations of well-known pop, folk, and soul songs. The best things here are indeed fine. There's a gorgeous reading of Baden Powell's “Tempo de Amore” thanks to Lucas Martins' bassline and CéU's singing. “Space Captain” by the Derek Trucks-Susan Tedeschi Band --with Hancock and Colaiuta -- brings out a much-needed soulful grit to Tedeschi's vocals, gospelized four-party harmony, and tough slide playing by Trucks. Bob Dylan's “The Times They Are a Changin'," with Lisa Hannigan's raw, emotive vocals, is underscored by interplay between the Chieftains and Toumani Diabaté's kora and Hancock's piano. The tune actually moves past its American folk revival beginnings to reflect a worldwide sentiment. “Tamatant Tilay”/”Exodus” pairs the nomad Malian guitar band Tinariwen’s song with Bob Marley's classic. Hancock’s trio, K’NAAN, Tinariwen, and three members of Los Lobos are all featured on vocals. Tinariwen dominates with Hancock’s funky clavinet pushing against their snaky wall of guitars and ululating singing; it's the hippest track here. Klein’s “The Song Goes On” features Anoushka Shankar, Wayne Shorter, Chaka Khan, and K.S. Chithra with some lyrics translated into Hindi for the Indian vocalists. A full-on Indian session band interacts with Shorter’s knotty soprano sax, and the only truly engaged Hancock piano playing on the set. ~ Thom Jurek
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Imagine Herbie Hancock 7:16
  3. 2 Don't Give Up Herbie Hancock 7:25
  4. 3 Tempo de Amor Herbie Hancock 4:40
  5. 4 Space Captain Herbie Hancock 6:52
  6. 5 The Times They Are a Changin' Herbie Hancock 8:1
  7. 6 La Tierra Herbie Hancock 4:49
  8. 7 Tamatant Tilay/Exodus Herbie Hancock 4:43
  9. 8 Tomorrow Never Knows Herbie Hancock 5:18
  10. 9 A Change Is Gonna Come Herbie Hancock 8:44
  11. 10 The Song Goes On Herbie Hancock 7:47

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |