Slacker Logo

Buena Vista Social Club Presents: Ibrahim Ferrer

Ibrahim Ferrer 6/8/1999


When the Buena Vista Social Club album was released to great acclaim in 1997, it revived the careers of quite a few incredibly talented aging Cuban musicians. Like Ibrahim Ferrer, most of those musicians (who had been legendary in the '40s through the '70s) hadn't been performing professionally in decades. With the success of the Buena Vista Social Club, everything changed; they toured the globe, and plans for follow-up albums followed. Ibrahim Ferrer's was the second of what became a line of Buena Vista releases, all hoping to cash in on the success of the first. Ferrer's album is pleasant, the kind of album you could put on during brunch on a sunny morning. The album features many classic Cuban compositions. Original arrangers, musicians, and bandleaders were involved whenever possible. One standout is "Mami Me Gusto," a rolling upbeat tune by the legendary Cuban composer/bandleader Arsenio Rodriguez. On that tune Ferrer is lively and loose, and he is joined by Rodriguez's original pianist, the masterful Ruben Gonzales. The rest of the album is nice, but rarely as inspired or joyous as the original Buena Vista release. This is a much more romantic sounding album and on the right tunes, like "Aquellos Ojos Verdes," they really hit the mark; Ferrer shines and Gonzales sends glistening piano lines cascading down the keys. At age 63-plus, Ferrer was long overdue for a debut album, and as a result the disc communicates a feel of easy satisfaction. If you're looking for classy cocktail party music that will hold the attention of music fans, and won't bother the uninterested, look no further. ~ David Lavin
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Bruca Maniguá Ibrahim Ferrer 4:41
  3. 2 Herido de Sombras Ibrahim Ferrer 4:10
  4. 3 Marieta Ibrahim Ferrer 5:51
  5. 4 Guateque Campesino Ibrahim Ferrer 5:6
  6. 5 Mami Me Gustó Ibrahim Ferrer 5:4
  7. 6 Nuestra Ultima Cita Ibrahim Ferrer 3:56
  8. 7 Cienfuegos Tiene Su Guaguancó Ibrahim Ferrer 5:20
  9. 8 Silencio Ibrahim Ferrer 4:39
  10. 9 Aquellos Ojos Verdes Ibrahim Ferrer 4:51
  11. 10 Qué Bueno Baila Usted Ibrahim Ferrer 4:33
  12. 11 Como Fue Ibrahim Ferrer 3:33

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |