Slacker Logo

Live at Sin-é [Legacy Edition]

Jeff Buckley 9/2/2003


In its original form, Buckley's Live at Sin-é release was a mere 26-minute EP. This two-CD deluxe edition radically expands it into a proper album in its own right, with no less than two hours and 37 minutes of running time, throwing in a bonus DVD of 11 minutes of unreleased footage to boot. This is a major archival release in that it adds a substantial amount of material to the discography of a cult singer who released only one full-length album in his lifetime, as well as giving a thorough picture of what he sounded like at the outset of his recording career. At the same time, the general listener who might not be a fully subscribed member of the Buckley cult must be cautioned that when you hear this, you realize there's good reason that these live solo performances (largely recorded on August 17, 1993, though some were done on July 19, 1993) were so heavily pruned for the initial EP release. Buckley seems yet to have fully found either his singing or songwriting voice, being prone to some overdone histrionics in his vocals and (to a lesser degree) guitar playing. Too, the long between-song monologues and instrumental/vocal farting around are sometimes irritating, and no doubt would have been largely edited out if this were a standard live release rather than a posthumous archival one. What this album does do is illustrate a range of his formative influences, including as it does covers of songs by his heroes Led Zeppelin, Nina Simone, Bob Dylan, Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, Van Morrison, and Leonard Cohen, all interpreted liberally and idiosyncratically. The DVD, incidentally, includes an interview, covers of Morrison's "The Way Young Lovers Do" (different than the performance of that tune on the CD) and the MC5's "Kick Out the Jams" (not heard on the CD in any form), as well as a Buckley poem, "New Years Prayer," that likewise isn't on the CD. ~ Richie Unterberger
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Be Your Husband Jeff Buckley 4:54
  3. 2 Lover, You Should've Come Over Jeff Buckley 9:24
  4. 3 Mojo Pin Jeff Buckley 5:36
  5. 4 Monologue: Duane Eddy/Songs for Lovers Jeff Buckley 1:19
  6. 5 Grace Jeff Buckley 6:48
  7. 6 Monologue: Reverb, The Doors Jeff Buckley 1:39
  8. 7 Strange Fruit Jeff Buckley 7:42
  9. 8 Night Flight Jeff Buckley 6:39
  10. 9 If You Knew Jeff Buckley 4:27
  11. 10 Monologue: Fabulous Time for a Guinness Jeff Buckley 0:41
  12. 11 Unforgiven (Last Goodbye) Jeff Buckley 5:35
  13. 12 Twelfth of Never Jeff Buckley 3:36
  14. 13 Monologue: Café Days Jeff Buckley 0:15
  15. 14 Monologue: Eternal Life Jeff Buckley 0:36
  16. 15 Eternal Life Jeff Buckley 5:50
  17. 16 Just Like a Woman Jeff Buckley 7:27
  18. 17 Monologue: False Start/Apology/Miles Davis Jeff Buckley 1:4
  19. 18 Calling You Jeff Buckley 5:49
  20. 1 Monologue: Nusrat/He's My Elvis Jeff Buckley 3:12
  21. 2 Yeh Jo Halka Halka Saroor Hai Jeff Buckley 6:8
  22. 3 Monologue: I'm a Ridiculous Person Jeff Buckley 0:40
  23. 4 If You See Her, Say Hello Jeff Buckley 8:18
  24. 5 Monologue: Matt Dillon/Hollies/Classic Rock Radio Jeff Buckley 1:33
  25. 6 Dink's Song Jeff Buckley 11:13
  26. 7 Monologue: Musical Chairs Jeff Buckley 1:9
  27. 8 Drown in My Own Tears Jeff Buckley 4:11
  28. 9 Monologue: The Suckiest Water Jeff Buckley 0:8
  29. 10 The Way Young Lovers Do Jeff Buckley 10:5
  30. 11 Monologue: Walk Through Walls Jeff Buckley 0:27
  31. 12 Je N'En Connais Pas la Fin [Cover] Jeff Buckley 5:1
  32. 13 I Shall Be Released Jeff Buckley 5:20
  33. 14 Sweet Thing Jeff Buckley 10:35
  34. 15 Monologue: Good Night Bill Jeff Buckley 0:16
  35. 16 Hallelujah Jeff Buckley 9:14
  36. 1 Interview With Jeff Buckley [Previously Unreleased] Jeff Buckley null:null
  37. 2 The Way Young Lovers Do [Previously Unreleased] Jeff Buckley null:null
  38. 3 Kick Out the Jams [Previously Unreleased] Jeff Buckley null:null
  39. 4 New Year's Eve Prayer [Previously Unreleased] Jeff Buckley null:null

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |