Slacker Logo

Sketches for My Sweetheart the Drunk

Jeff Buckley 5/26/1998


Jeff Buckley was a mess of contradictions: a perfectionist who believed in spontaneity, a man who was at once humble and vain, a musician who shunned his father's tumultuous legacy while creating one of his own. These are some of the reasons why he took his time writing and recording the material for his second album, laboring over many songs for months at a time. Given such painstaking methods, it shouldn't have been a surprise that recording was an equally fastidious process. Buckley recorded enough material for an album with producer Tom Verlaine, but deciding that the results weren't quite right, he scrapped them and moved to Memphis to record the album again. He reworked a few songs as home demos as he prepared to cut the album, but it was never made -- Buckley died in a tragic drowning accident before entering the studio. As a way to enlarge his legacy, his mother and record label rounded up the majority of the existing unreleased recordings, releasing them as the double-disc set Sketches for My Sweetheart the Drunk. Excepting a few awkward moments and middle-eights, it's hard to see why Buckley rejected the Verlaine productions that make up disc one. The material isn't necessarily a progression from Grace; it's more like a stripped-down, edgier take on the sweeping, jazz-tinged goth folk-rock that made the first album so distinctive. Neither the nearly finished first disc nor the homemade demos and re-recordings on the second disc offer any revelations, but that's not necessarily a disappointment. Sketches adds several wonderful songs to his catalog, offering further proof of his immense talent. And that, of course, is what makes the album as sad as it is exciting. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 The Sky Is a Landfill Jeff Buckley 5:4
  3. 2 Everybody Here Wants You Jeff Buckley 4:42
  4. 3 Opened Once [Live Classics] Jeff Buckley 3:23
  5. 4 Nightmares by the Sea Jeff Buckley 3:52
  6. 5 Yard of Blonde Girls Jeff Buckley 4:5
  7. 6 Witches' Rave Jeff Buckley 4:39
  8. 7 New Year's Prayer Jeff Buckley 4:37
  9. 8 Morning Theft [Live Classics] Jeff Buckley 3:36
  10. 9 Vancouver Jeff Buckley 3:11
  11. 10 You and I [Live Classics] Jeff Buckley 5:38
  12. 1 Nightmares by the Sea Jeff Buckley 3:51
  13. 2 New Year's Prayer Jeff Buckley 4:10
  14. 3 Haven't You Heard Jeff Buckley 4:6
  15. 4 I Know We Could Be So Happy Baby (If We Wanted to Be) Jeff Buckley 4:25
  16. 5 Murder Suicide Meteor Slave [Live Classics] Jeff Buckley 5:52
  17. 6 Back in N.Y.C. [Live Classics][Cover] Jeff Buckley 7:35
  18. 7 Demon John [Live Classics] Jeff Buckley 5:11
  19. 8 Your Flesh Is So Nice Jeff Buckley 3:35
  20. 9 Jewel Box [Live Classics] Jeff Buckley 3:33
  21. 10 Satisfied Mind Jeff Buckley 5:58

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |