Slacker Logo

Pure Jerry: Lunt-Fontanne, NYC, 10/31/87



At the height of the Grateful Dead's public fame and success with 1987's In the Dark, Jerry Garcia decided to develop the criminally short-lived Jerry Garcia Acoustic Band with John Kahn (bass), David Nelson (guitar/vocals), Sandy Rothman (mandolin/vocals), Kenny Kosek (fiddle), and David Kemper (drums). The formation of the combo centered on a two-week stint at the Lunt-Fontanne Theatre, on the north side of 46th Street, just west of the Great White Way herself. Garcia would often play four separate shows a day -- an acoustic and electric matinee, plus an evening performance. This Pure Jerry installment of archival releases features every number from the concluding night of the run, which just so happened to fall on Halloween, October 31, 1987. Garcia's electric band consisted of Garcia, Kahn, Kemper, keyboardist Melvin Seals, and background singers Jaclyn LaBranch and Gloria Jones. As if the very nature and location of the concerts were not enough, the song selection is sublime and offers a faultless sampling of the artist's work. This is most pointedly the case during the "unplugged" programs, as Garcia and company present a primer in Americana 101 music appreciation. The disparate range of material spans from the Grateful Dead's "Ripple" to the cool workout of Jimmie Rodgers' rural "Blue Yodel No. 9" and the seminal gospel of "Swing Low Sweet Chariot." The pair of "plugged-in" entries are much in keeping with the style and format that the Jerry Garcia Band had been doing since its mid-'70s inception. There are extended and well-jammed covers of several Bob Dylan titles such as "When I Paint My Masterpiece," "I Shall Be Released," and an impassioned "Knocking on Heaven's Door," plus JGB favorites "Run for the Roses," "Cats Under the Stars," "Gomorrah," "They Love Each Other," and "Deal." Ever the prankster, Garcia commences the final set of the evening with a fun and frolicking redux of Warren Zevon's "Werewolves of London." Although the audio is heavy on the audience, Pure Jerry: Lunt-Fontanne, NYC, 10/31/87 and 2004's companion Pure Jerry: Lunt-Fontanne, The Best of the Rest are recommended for those inclined, and in terms of retail availability can be found at Border's Books & Music stores throughout North America. ~ Lindsay Planer
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 I've Been All Around This World Jerry Garcia Band 6:40
  3. 2 I'm Troubled Jerry Garcia Band 5:54
  4. 3 Short Life of Trouble Jerry Garcia Band 3:44
  5. 4 Band Introduction Jerry Garcia Band 1:22
  6. 5 Blue Yodel #9 Jerry Garcia Band 6:19
  7. 6 Spike Driver Blues [Matinee] (Live) Jerry Garcia Acoustic Band 7:13
  8. 6 Spike Driver News Jerry Garcia Band 7:12
  9. 7 Troubled in Mind Jerry Garcia Band 6:34
  10. 8 The Girl at the Crossroads Bar Jerry Garcia Band 3:28
  11. 9 Bright Morning Stars Jerry Garcia Band 2:19
  12. 10 Ripple Jerry Garcia Band 4:50
  13. 11 Good Night Irene Jerry Garcia Band 7:1
  14. 1 How Sweet It Is Jerry Garcia Band 7:9
  15. 2 They Love Each Other Jerry Garcia 8:22
  16. 3 When I Paint My Masterpiece Jerry Garcia Band 6:29
  17. 4 Dear Prudence Jerry Garcia Band 12:4
  18. 5 Run for the Roses Jerry Garcia Band 5:57
  19. 6 I Shall Be Released Jerry Garcia Band 7:34
  20. 7 My Sisters and Brothers Jerry Garcia Band 4:34
  21. 8 Midnight Moonlight Jerry Garcia Band 7:8
  22. 9 Crazy Love (Encore) Jerry Garcia Band 5:24
  23. 1 Swing Low Sweet Chariot Jerry Garcia Band 3:59
  24. 2 Deep Elem Blues Jerry Garcia Band 6:40
  25. 3 Blue Yodel #9 Jerry Garcia Band 6:16
  26. 4 Ballad of Casey Jones Jerry Garcia Band 5:57
  27. 5 Two Soldiers Jerry Garcia Band 4:48
  28. 6 Band Introduction Jerry Garcia Band 0:50
  29. 7 Diamond Joe Jerry Garcia Band 3:52
  30. 8 Gone Home Jerry Garcia Band 4:45
  31. 9 Oh Babe, It Ain't No Lie Jerry Garcia Band 6:11
  32. 10 If I Lose Jerry Garcia Band 3:20
  33. 11 Ragged But Right Jerry Garcia Band 5:4
  34. 1 Werewolves of London Jerry Garcia Band 6:17
  35. 2 Cats Under the Stars Jerry Garcia Band 7:59
  36. 3 Stop That Train Jerry Garcia Band 6:42
  37. 4 Let It Rock Jerry Garcia Band 5:34
  38. 5 Gomorrah Jerry Garcia Band 6:39
  39. 6 The Harder They Come Jerry Garcia Band 10:45
  40. 7 Knockin' on Heavens Door Jerry Garcia 11:1
  41. 8 Deal Jerry Garcia Band 7:46
  42. 9 My Sisters and Brothers (Encore) Jerry Garcia Band 7:27

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |