Slacker Logo

Bootleg, Vol. 2: From Memphis to Hollywood

Johnny Cash 22/2/2011


The second volume in Johnny Cash's Bootleg series, subtitled From Memphis to Hollywood, is, in a different way, just as revelatory as its predecessor. The initial volume contained two discs packed (mostly) with tracks that Cash called the "Personal File." Cash recorded these songs for himself between 1973 and 1982: originals, folk ballads, and spirituals with stories and recollections about the material on the tapes. From Memphis to Hollywood is another treasure trove compiled by Legacy. These two discs contain 57 tracks, recorded between 1955 and 1969. Disc one commences at the very beginning, with Cash's first-ever radio performance with the Tennessee Two at KWEM in West Memphis, AR; these ten cuts include the sponsor announcements. (This material was included on the bonus disc in the limited-edition Legend box set.) These are followed by 12 previously unissued demos recorded previous to and about the time he signed to Sun -- though the dates and locations are unknown -- with just Cash and his guitar. Among these cuts are the earliest known versions of "I Walk the Line," "Get Rhythm," "You're My Baby" (a hit for Roy Orbison), and a full band demo for "Rock and Roll Ruby" (a hit for Warren Smith). There are a host of Sun rarities too, including a 1957 rehearsal of "Big River," and another pair of unreleased demos. Disc two commences in 1958 with Cash at Columbia. These 25 selections include B-sides, studio outtakes, and singles that never made it onto proper albums. The first three cuts, are all flipsides that retain the reverb-laden Sun rockabilly sound, while tempering it with a chorus of backing vocals that represent the sound of the new countrypolitain Nashville. Other cuts represent tunes Cash wrote for television programs and document his California years, such as "Johnny Yuma Theme" (not his "The Rebel--Johnny Yuma"), and "Five Minutes to Live," recorded for an unmade movie he was to star in. These performances have never been available in the United States; most of the music on disc two hasn't. There are stellar studio performances of "One Too Many Mornings," "Johnny Reb," and the original studio version of "Girl from Saskatoon" co-written with Johnny Horton (the solo version on Personal File is preferable). There are three unreleased demos on disc two to round this out in "Hardin Wouldn't Run," "Six White Horses," and the original demo for "Come Along and Ride This Train." This disc showcases Cash as he rose to prominence and became a household name, with most of the music on par with his hits. The package contains a fine set of liner notes by Ashley Khan, and rare photographs. Like its predecessor, Bootleg, Vol. 2: From Memphis to Hollywood is essential for Cash collectors and hardcore fans, adding even more depth and weight to his enormous stature in American popular music. ~ Thom Jurek
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 KWEN Announcements and Advertistments Johnny Cash 0:47
  3. 2 Johnny Cash Show Intro and Theme Johnny Cash 1:38
  4. 3 Wide Open Road Johnny Cash 2:28
  5. 4 Home Equipment Company Advertisement Johnny Cash 1:17
  6. 5 One More Ride Johnny Cash 2:20
  7. 6 Home Equipment Company Advertisement/Luther Perkins Intro Johnny Cash 1:51
  8. 7 Luther's Boogie Johnny Cash 0:45
  9. 8 Belshazzar Intro Johnny Cash 0:43
  10. 9 Belshazzar Johnny Cash 2:19
  11. 10 Closing Comments and Theme Johnny Cash 1:26
  12. 11 Overton Park Shell "Country Music Jamboree" Advertisement by "Texas" Bill Strength, Broadcast August 4, 1955 Johnny Cash 1:1
  13. 12 I Walk the Line [Demo] Johnny Cash 3:2
  14. 13 Get Rhythm [Demo] Johnny Cash 2:0
  15. 14 Train of Love [Demo] Johnny Cash 1:52
  16. 15 Country Boy [Demo] Johnny Cash 1:47
  17. 16 My Treasure [Demo] Johnny Cash 1:17
  18. 17 Belshazzar [Demo] Johnny Cash 2:20
  19. 18 He'll Be a Friend [Demo] Johnny Cash 1:46
  20. 19 When I Think of You [Previously Unreleased][Demo] Johnny Cash 1:41
  21. 20 I Just Don't Care Enough (To Carry On) [Previously Unreleased][Demo] Johnny Cash 2:6
  22. 21 I'll Cry for You [Previously Unreleased][Demo] Johnny Cash 2:27
  23. 22 You're My Baby [Demo] Johnny Cash 1:37
  24. 23 Rock and Roll Ruby [Demo] Johnny Cash 1:41
  25. 24 Wide Open Road Johnny Cash 1:46
  26. 25 Leave That Junk Alone Johnny Cash 1:26
  27. 26 Brakeman's Blues [Incomplete] Johnny Cash 1:31
  28. 27 Big River Johnny Cash 3:43
  29. 28 I Couldn't Keep from Crying Johnny Cash 2:0
  30. 29 New Mexico Johnny Cash 2:3
  31. 30 Goodnight Irene Johnny Cash 2:38
  32. 31 Restless Kid [Demo] Johnny Cash 1:50
  33. 32 Its All Over [Demo] Johnny Cash 1:40
  34. 1 All Over Again Johnny Cash 2:10
  35. 2 You Dreamer You Johnny Cash 1:47
  36. 3 I'll Remember You Johnny Cash 1:50
  37. 4 Johnny Yuma Theme Johnny Cash 1:54
  38. 5 Five Minutes to Live Johnny Cash 2:1
  39. 6 The Losing Kind Johnny Cash 1:56
  40. 7 Locomotive Man Johnny Cash 2:47
  41. 8 Girl in Saskatoon Johnny Cash 2:10
  42. 9 There's a Mother Always Waiting [Previously Unreleased] Johnny Cash 2:58
  43. 10 Johnny Reb Johnny Cash 2:51
  44. 11 Shifting, Whispering Sands [Previously Unreleased] Johnny Cash 2:29
  45. 12 Send a Picture of Mother Johnny Cash 2:50
  46. 13 Hardin Wouldn't Run [Demo] Johnny Cash 3:30
  47. 14 Thunderball Johnny Cash 2:49
  48. 15 One Too Many Mornings [Previously Unreleased] Johnny Cash 2:35
  49. 16 The Frozen Logger [Previously Unreleased] Johnny Cash 2:19
  50. 17 Foolish Questions [Previously Unreleased] Johnny Cash 3:7
  51. 18 Bottom of the Mountain Johnny Cash 2:25
  52. 19 Put the Sugar to Bed Johnny Cash 2:20
  53. 20 You Beat All I Ever Saw Johnny Cash 2:6
  54. 21 On the Line Johnny Cash 2:19
  55. 22 Roll Call Johnny Cash 2:23
  56. 23 The Folk Singer Johnny Cash 3:2
  57. 24 Six White Horses [Demo][Previously Unreleased] Johnny Cash 2:26
  58. 25 Come Alone and Ride This Train [Demo] Johnny Cash 3:37

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |