Slacker Logo

The Fabulous Johnny Cash

Johnny Cash 31/9/2002


The Fabulous Johnny Cash was Cash's first album for Columbia records and one of his best for the label. Unlike some of his latter-day albums, there wasn't much filler on the record. At the time of its recording, Cash had just been freed from his contract with Sun. Instead of recording these songs for his last Sun sessions, he wound up saving much of his best material for his Columbia album, and that's what makes The Fabulous so consistent. The album builds on his basic, spare sound, but it is slightly more polished than his Sun records. Yet what makes it so entertaining are the songs themselves. From "Don't Take Your Guns to Town" and "Frankie's Man, Johnny," to "Pickin' Time" and "The Troubadour," the album is filled with first-rate songs, with only a handful of mediocre songs like "Supper-Time," that don't distract from the overall quality of the album at all. The 2002 CD reissue on Columbia/Legacy expands the album significantly with six bonus tracks. Four of those (which do not appear in different versions on the original album) were issued on the German release The Unissued Johnny Cash. There's also a first take of "Oh What a Dream" that was previously unissued, while the version of "I'll Remember You" (recorded in July 1958, a year before the one that later appeared on a Columbia single) makes its first appearance anywhere. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Run Softly, Blue River Johnny Cash 2:20
  3. 2 Frankie's Man, Johnny Johnny Cash 2:15
  4. 3 That's All Over Johnny Cash 1:52
  5. 4 The Troubadour Johnny Cash 2:15
  6. 5 One More Ride Johnny Cash 1:58
  7. 6 That's Enough Johnny Cash 2:40
  8. 7 I Still Miss Someone Johnny Cash 2:33
  9. 8 Don't Take Your Guns to Town Johnny Cash 3:0
  10. 9 I'd Rather Die Young Johnny Cash 2:29
  11. 10 Pickin' Time Johnny Cash 1:58
  12. 11 Shepherd of My Heart Johnny Cash 2:10
  13. 12 Suppertime Johnny Cash 2:50
  14. 13 Oh, What a Dream Johnny Cash 2:5
  15. 14 Mama's Baby Johnny Cash 2:19
  16. 15 Fool's Hall of Fame Johnny Cash 2:6
  17. 16 I'll Remember You Johnny Cash 2:5
  18. 17 Cold Shoulder Johnny Cash 1:51
  19. 18 Walkin' the Blues Johnny Cash 2:10

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |