Slacker Logo

The Real...Johnny Cash: The Ultimate Johnny Cash Collection [1-CD]

Johnny Cash 6/21/2011


A collection of 30 fine tracks from the heyday of Johnny Cash's career, The Real...Johnny Cash: The Ultimate Johnny Cash Collection has an advantage over many Cash anthologies on the market in that it features classic early sides from Cash's tenure with Sun Records, as well as tracks from his longer association with Columbia Records. Curiously, though, many of Cash's biggest hits for Sun are featured here -- including "I Walk the Line," "Folsom Prison Blues," and "Home of the Blues" -- but the material from his Columbia years for the most part focuses on deep catalog and covers of traditional country and gospel classics. While these performances invariably capture Cash in excellent form, folks looking for numbers like "Ring of Fire," "Understand Your Man," "The Ballad of Ira Hayes," "A Boy Named Sue," or "Sunday Morning Coming Down" might wonder why they don't appear on the "Ultimate" Cash collection, especially since Columbia's current owners are the folks who put this set together. In spite of this, there's plenty of great music on this collection, and if you're in the market for a disc that offers some excellent and inspiring lesser-known recordings from Johnny Cash, this album is well worth investigating. ~ Mark Deming
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 I Walk the Line Johnny Cash 2:43
  3. 2 Folsom Prison Blues Johnny Cash 2:48
  4. 3 Cry! Cry! Cry! Johnny Cash 2:26
  5. 4 Get Rhythm Johnny Cash 2:12
  6. 5 Guess Things Happen That Way Johnny Cash 1:48
  7. 6 Rock Island Line Johnny Cash 2:9
  8. 7 Home of the Blues Johnny Cash 2:39
  9. 8 Don't Take Your Guns to Town Johnny Cash 3:1
  10. 9 Shepherd of My Heart Johnny Cash 2:12
  11. 10 I'd Rather Die Young Johnny Cash 2:28
  12. 11 It Was Jesus Johnny Cash 2:4
  13. 12 Lead Me Gently Home Johnny Cash 1:57
  14. 13 Swing Low, Sweet Chariot Johnny Cash 1:50
  15. 14 Drink to Me Johnny Cash 1:52
  16. 15 Five Feet High and Rising Johnny Cash 1:44
  17. 16 It Could Be You (Instead of Him) Johnny Cash 1:48
  18. 17 Loading Coal Johnny Cash 4:59
  19. 18 Going to Memphis Johnny Cash 4:22
  20. 19 When Papa Played the Dobro Johnny Cash 2:55
  21. 20 Seasons of My Heart Johnny Cash 2:30
  22. 21 I Feel Better All Over Johnny Cash 2:3
  23. 22 Honky-Tonk Girl Johnny Cash 1:58
  24. 23 He'll Understand and Say Well Done Johnny Cash 2:24
  25. 24 God Must Have My Fortune Laid Away Johnny Cash 2:47
  26. 25 My God Is Real (Yes, God Is Real) Johnny Cash 1:58
  27. 26 Time Changes Everything Johnny Cash 1:49
  28. 27 I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry Johnny Cash 2:39
  29. 28 Taller Than Trees Johnny Cash 1:50
  30. 29 I Won't Have to Cross Jordan Alone Johnny Cash 2:58
  31. 30 Why Do You Punish Me (For Loving You) Johnny Cash 2:20

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |